j is for jug

brown jug

Last week while we were packing up yet more collectible figurines and whatever else we could get in those boxes, I looked out the front door (which was open to bring some air in) and saw the little brown jug that has been a part of my family as long as I can remember.

This is not a picture of my jug as I have not gotten around to doing that yet. But it looks like it.

It’s going with me since, like the elephant, I have a sentimental attachment to it. I’m taking Mom’s old costume jewelry, too, (which is another J word) and sorting through her other jewelry. Most of it is nice enough but not that valuable. There are a few nice pieces that neither I nor my sister-in-law want so I’m sorting through jewelry and going to have to learn how to sell it. I don’t want to see the few expensive pieces go for $1.95 on the auction. I hear there is a way of dealing with that. I’m not sentimentally attached to the jewelry.

But that jug is mine.

You know the song? For some reason, in my house, the lyrics were

ha ha ha
he he he
little brown jug
you make me pee!

Dunno why. Dad had some really odd lyrics to songs.

My jug.

my jug

6 thoughts on “j is for jug”

  1. I like your dad’s lyrics!

    Would it help to post some of the things in a private FB group in case some of us would like to purchase? Just a thought, and might be too much work.

    Like

    1. Sounds like work to me, but it might be an idea. Mostly there’s a bunch of fine 16 inch gold chains and small bracelet chains (Mom had tiny wrists) and a few very expensive pieces. Not really sure I know enough people to bother with all the picture taking etc.

      Like

  2. Those are funny lyrics! It would be difficult (but sort of liberating) to decide what to keep and what to get rid of. AND it also sounds like a lot of work and time!!

    Like

    1. Liberating since I was feeling I needed to keep a bunch of stuff I can’t use. Or won’t use. It will take time to sort stuff but I’ve already started since I stuck individual chains in little bead bags once I got them untangled. Gotta sort the earrings. And talk to the auction people.

      Like

  3. When my elderly aunt died, my cousin and I had to go through all of her jewelry which was heaped into boxes and drawers. What a mess. I don’t think any of it had any value, and reconfirmed my desire to not own much of the stuff. Best of luck with this part of your project. *ugh*

    Like

    1. It wasn’t too bad. Took some time to separate out the costume jewelry. Then there’s a few of what I think of as upscale costume jewelry. I’m keeping the old stuff and didn’t actually go through it – at least not yet. Then it was just going through the good stuff and deciding what I want to keep – which was mostly earrings. Now the issue is selling it.

      Like

Comments are closed.