b is for baby buggy

baby buggy

One of the things I’d debating taking with me is an antique doll buggy. As best as I remember it, one of my great grandfathers gave it to Mom when she was little. Grandma thought it was too good to play with so it was put in the attic. This was very Grandma. When she died, Mom found kitchen curtains that she had made her in her dresser drawer, never used because they were too good.

After I was born, Mom wanted the buggy for me. Grandma told her that she had given it to Tracy, my Uncle Dick’s step-daughter. Mom was furious, but she was not the kind of lady who would have gone and taken it back from Tracy.

Now the oddest part… After Grandma died and they were going through the house. Or possibly later – I think after Grandpa died what? 13 years later? She found the buggy in the attic. Pristine. Grandma had never given it away. Did she not want Mom to have it? Was it great-grandpa Cupit who gave it to her? I recall he gave Mom a doll that Grandma did not approve of at one point. Was it just them? Mom tried to get some of the farmhouse antiques out of the barn before they rotted away and were always told someday. As far as I know, the old iron Iron is the only thing they took. My grandparents were not wealthy and really could have made money on what they saw as junk but never did. Everything was toast by the time Grandpa died.

I wish there was someone to ask these things left. I could try Uncle John but he’s having such a hard time himself I hate to bother him. And I doubt he would remember much of it – besides, he and Dick also thought that everything in the barn was junk.

8 thoughts on “b is for baby buggy”

  1. Stop the debate! Take that buggy with you. That’s such a classic story about families and possessions. To his dying day my dad could rattle off who got what from his parents’ house and why it should have gone to him, grumble, grumble, grumble. And the “too good to use” line is another classic. I have a wee touch of that in me—or at least I did. Fortunately I’m a pessimistic kinda person so now that I’m older I no longer say or think “too good to use.” I say “time’s growing short..I’m gonna use it now.”

    Good to hear from you. I’ve been wondering how your project was going.

    Like

    1. The other day I was definitely on the side of I-don’t-really-have-anything-to-do-with-it but then I thought of how much Mom wanted me to have it. It’s a pretty little thing and I’m sure I can find a spot for it wherever I go.

      I’ve been thinking a lot about you lately, too, Ms. Pam. We need to write or talk more often!

      Like

  2. It is amazing and you can do so much with it! Creatively, you can fill it with things, even plants outside. I hate waste, so it’s difficult to hear about people keeping stuff in storage when it could be sold or USED.

    Like

    1. Well Margaret, I might display Mom’s antique china doll, or one she made. Or perhaps it can hold some extra blankets. But I doubt I’ll use an 80 year old wicker buggy outside. It’s in beautiful condition.

      Like

  3. Zazzy,please keep your wicker doll buggy and display your mom’s dolls ! It’s rare to have an 80 year old wicker doll buggy in pristine condition !

    Like

    1. It is very pretty, isn’t it? I’ve found similar buggies online and this one is missing a mattress, I think. I’d imagine moths or something got it in the attic – at least mice never chewed on it.

      Like

  4. I have a similar old buggy, but IT HAS BEEN USED by my mother and her sisters, then me and my girl cousins. I don’t know what to do with it either, so it sits in our basement… waiting. Amazing sometimes how much emotion can go into one object.

    Like

    1. I donated my old baby buggy a few moves ago. They should be used and enjoyed, I think. Unless, of course, they are a never-been-used antique. Maybe. Part of me thinks that this old buggy would enjoy having little children push it around. Perhaps after I die it will get the chance since I have no one to leave it to.

      Like

Comments are closed.