journey’s end

dad

Dad died this morning a little before 4:00. He had an apparently peaceful week as the nursing staff and hospice managed his pain. He slept a lot but, as of yesterday morning, he seemed to be stable. His nurse told me that she checked on him and he was sleeping and when she checked a half hour later, he had passed.

I believe that this was the best thing for him. This last decline was really very fast and he did not suffer long.

Although I’ve been dealing with this all week, I found at the end I was not expecting this. I half way thought he was going to rally and linger for at least several weeks. Having just been through this with Mom’s death, my head is filled right now with the thousands of things that need to be done.

Take a deep breath. Let’s just get through today.

12 thoughts on “journey’s end”

  1. I am sorry for your loss and hoping you will get through all the things that need to be done, I am thinking about you.

    Like

  2. Thank you all for your kind words and support. I really do think this was the best thing for him. It just feels weird to me. It all happened so fast and I have not totally absorbed the idea of not having living parents.

    Like

  3. No matter the circumstances or your relationship, it’s tough to lose your dad! I can’t stand the thought of losing mine. (he’s 87, so it could be any time) I’ve been thinking about you all week and sending you cyber love. xoxo

    Like

  4. Thank you both. It is hard, Margaret, but as Pam said, I’m glad it was peaceful. I think the reality has not really set in yet though.

    Like

  5. My condolences on your loss. Take care of yourself now as the reality of not having living parents sinks into your consciousness. Life goes on, but in a different way. Sending good thoughts your way.

    Like

    1. Thank you Ally. I am doing okay except for being ridiculously tired. I think I spent all last week half awake, expecting to get the call. Then Friday morning I couldn’t sleep at all and when I laid down to try again, then the phone rings. Life will be different and I get to learn new things – like what probate is like.

      Like

  6. Zazzy,my heartfelt condolences !

    Your dad loved you his way !

    I’m thinking of you and sending you lots of hugs ! !

    Like

Comments are closed.