changing tastes

coffee2

I was thinking the other day about how your (my) tastes change over time. Things I hated as a child, I love now. Some things I still hate, like okra.

About this time last year I was really excited because that seasonal delight, the pumpkin spice coffee creamer, reappears. And it came. And it was awful. And the thing is, all the coffee flavors were suddenly awful.

So I drank tea. Green tea. With lemon and a touch of honey and some sucralose to make it sweet without driving up my blood sugar. And maybe it was two years ago when I stopped drinking coffee because I’m pretty sure I drank tea for at least a year.

Then it was diet cola. And for a brief period of time, caffeine pills with whatever fizzy soda.

And now coffee. With half and half, the way I drank it years ago, before funny flavors and the macchiato. Uncomplicated.

And I wonder, what’s different? It’s not just a matter of — what? Being in the mood for one thing today and something else tomorrow. Today I’ll have the chicken, I say. No, today I hate the chicken and can’t imagine ever eating it again. Why does taste change so suddenly?

It probably doesn’t really matter. But I was thinking about it.

6 thoughts on “changing tastes”

  1. Oddly I do not think I have ever noticed my taste changing like that. With liquids I am pretty well set in stone. Morning coffee, soda water for my exercise time at 10am, soda water with lunch, soda water until Afternoon Coffee Time, then back to Soda Water. I guess that would seen pretty boring but I love the taste of soda water and enjoy drinking it.

    I tried my first ever blueberry recently at 40 years old. I’d bought some for the chooks as they were on super special at Aldi – the chooks deeply loved them, so much so that they’ll scoff them down whole if I accidentally drop a whole one. I like to cut their snacks into small pieces, I’m just OCD that way. And I thought wow, they love these things, I wonder why.. and I tried one, and now I get it. 🙂

    Like

    1. There is evidence right there that not everyone is me! 🙂 That’s another observation about us humans, I think we (not just me?) tend to assume that others are similar to us. But my tastes make radical changes while your tastes remain more consistent. I wonder why.

      You never tried a blueberry? Blueberries tend to be expensive around here, even during the season. I can’t imagine buying them to feed the chickens. I can imagine cooking said chickens and serving them with a nice blueberry barbecue sauce.

      Like

  2. I’m the same way. My taste for food and drink changes, almost imperceptibly, over time. Right now I’m drinking black coffee in the morning, but want white tea in the afternoon. I’m keen on ham but can’t stand turkey which I used to eat often. My theory is that my body craves certain vitamins and minerals, so my tastebuds go out of their way to make it so.

    Like

    1. Hmmm. I’m on a bit of pro-ham, anti-turkey lately, too. My tastebuds crave certain things like potato chips that I have trouble justifying that as something my body needs.

      Like

  3. I like coffee and have strong opinions on what should go in it for me–chocolate yes, mint, nut flavoring or anything pumpkin spice, NO. My tastes have changed on meat mainly; I’m not much of a fan of it. It doesn’t settle well in my stomach.

    Like

    1. I feel strongly about coffee, too. It’s just that my feelings about it seem to change pretty radically. Meat comes and goes for me. Over much of the summer I can’t stand it. Lately, I’ve been craving beef which is pretty unusual for me. Perhaps Ally is right and it’s all about what our bodies need at any given time.

      Like

Comments are closed.