the brain

The brain is a mysterious thing. We still know so little about it or what it is capable of. Or so we’re told. But we spent years being told that we only use 10% of our brains and that is totally not true.

The part that interests me is how connections are made. You know how you can get sucked into YouTube or Wikipedia, bouncing from link to link? It can be Mental Floss or HGTV or whatever website or newsite with links. Bounce. Bounce.

At least sometimes those types of connections make sense. Sometimes.

This morning while I was getting ready, I sang a little jingle about what I was doing – then suddenly it didn’t end. It was a real tune out of the depths of my memory. When was the last time I heard Herman’s Hermits?

Isn’t it wonderful that YouTube can deliver up almost any song that is tickling our memory? At least if you can remember enough of it for the search feature to take you somewhere close. Does finding the song help you get rid of the earwig? I think it helps me, especially since I start bouncing around the links.

You never know where they will take you. Innocent link hoping nay start with musical memories. Then the truly weird happens.

I’m Henry the 8th I am! pops into my head for no good reason. Not a half hour later, I’m watching Last Hours in Suburbia and the ghost starts singing I’m Henry the 8th. It’s a silly coincidence but in my head, it seems so much more important. What’s the deep meaning behind I’m Henry the 8th I am? Is there any? Does there have to be?

Is it a human thing? Perhaps something we all share. Or maybe it’s just me. Seeking connections between trivial things. Wanting to make sense of the world.

14 thoughts on “the brain”

  1. I’m one who believes everything is connected. Sometimes in a magical and spiritual way, other times in a spucy-food-before-bed kind of way.

    I’m happy to continue this discussion tomorrow when all is better in my world (as in, I had an abscess tooth pulled this morning and am on pain meds).

    Like

    1. Ouch! I hope you feel much better tomorrow. I had a tooth fall apart and turn into a giant filling last week – but at least it didn’t need to come out. Are we connected? Our teeth?

      Yeah, I tend to see a lot of connections everywhere. Sometimes I think they aren’t real and other times I wonder. Is the whole world one big piece of string art?

      Like

  2. Like Gibbs says, “there’s no such thing as coincidences.” I enjoy sleuthing out what might be the connection when things like this happen. As there is no wrong answer, all possibilities seem plausible.

    Like

    1. I was thinking about that, too, Ally. I’ve been catching up on the years I missed of NCIS in anticipation of the current season. I was already writing this post due to the weird popping up of the song in my memory from seemingly nowhere when there it was again in the movie I was watching. I don’t know where coincidences like these come from – but like Gibbs also said – once may be a coincidence, twice is a pattern.

      Like

  3. I’ve been training my brain for almost 3 years now and still I am surprised at what it is capable of each time I go in there and play the games. I’ve learned two important things – I need to stop telling myself “I can’t do that” because sometimes even when I am telling myself that, my brain is actually doing “that” on my behalf. Plus, I’m actually not a failure at maths. If I’d had the right teachers and the right environment I might have been better at it. 🙂

    I don’t believe in coincidences. I believe everything happens for a reason. Sometimes we just have no idea what the reason is. Perhaps in a past life you *were* Henry the 8th? 😉

    Like

  4. I’ll have you know that you got that song TOTALLY stuck in my brain. “I’m Enery the 8th, I am…” It is a definite ear worm. One thing I enjoy(?) about the internet is that it leads me down one path, then another. My brain seems to find strange connections between topics and I end up researching random stuff for hours. 🙂

    Like

    1. Then my job is done Margaret! I got rid of that ear worm with another Herman’s Hermit song. Well you know, you watch one YouTube video and you click on another and who knows where you’ll end up?

      Like

  5. Your post reminds me of a little speech from the first season of the TV series True Detective, which I think has become one of my all-time favorite shows. One of the two main characters, Rust Cohle, has this to say and it’s a quotation that expresses quite accurately my gloomy outlook on life. At the same time I think it’s hilariously funny:

    “I think human consciousness, is a tragic misstep in evolution. We became too self-aware, nature created an aspect of nature separate from itself, we are creatures that should not exist by natural law. We are things that labor under the illusion of having a self; an accretion of sensory, experience and feeling, programmed with total assurance that we are each somebody, when in fact everybody is nobody. Maybe the honorable thing for our species to do is deny our programming, stop reproducing, walk hand in hand into extinction, one last midnight – brothers and sisters opting out of a raw deal.”

    Like

    1. In terms of dark humor, your quote reminds me of Bill Maher, “Life is just a swirling, sucking eddy of despair, filled with small moments of false hope, in an ever-darkening universe.” I had that (discretely) posted on my (real) wall for a long time. I think most people don’t get the humor, especially since many of us truly feel that way some of the time. Honey, this is why I gave up paying attention to the news. Really important stuff someone will tell me about and I don’t need to rest of the pain and suffering weighing me down. The truth is life sucks about 20% of the time, it’s terrific about 20% of the time and the rest of the time, it just is, neither particularly good nor bad.

      Like

  6. Zazzy,some time ago I read up on Prince Philip’s history .Then spent two hours on Wikipedia clicking on his family’s history links. I learned who killed Rasputin,I didn’t even want to know that. LOL

    Years ago I couldn’t get “I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts” out of my mind. LOL

    “Seasons In The Sun” is another song,(sad lyrics),I like and think of in my mind.

    The Canadian singer/songwriter Terry Jacks performs his 1974 hit “Seasons In The Sun” at the French TV show of Patrick Sebastien “Les Annees Bonheur”. The show was distributed by France Television and TV Monde Worldwide in January 2014.

    Like

    1. I enjoy link hopping. You can end up learning really interesting things.

      Both those songs are worthy of being ear worms. I had Happy Birthday stuck in my head the other day. Actually, for several days it kept popping back up.

      Like

Comments are closed.