my little basketball

my little basketball

On the one hand, he looks pretty funny. On the other, as a large person I feel bad about raising a large cat. But I swear he eats less than Zoe and she’s on the skinny side. They are equally somnolent. When not sleeping, Zoe is begging for food. Or they’re chasing each other around. But Charlie is a basketball with legs. And hell, so am I. We like to nap together. Napping is good.

That alligator who crunched my head last week has been visiting on a regular basis. It’s a tension headache and I would deny feeling stressed or tense but the alligator thinks otherwise. Okay, I’m a little stressed. My choices for a new doctor are not taking new patients. My second and third choices are not taking new patients. I’m waiting for some information about a Medicare+ plan that I hope to enroll in. I’m going to have to drive to a doctor so I may as well pick a direction that is useful to me. I just remembered that I need to get Dad’s taxes done. I think about it once in a while but it is feeling like it should get done on the soonish side. Gotta replace the upstairs heat pump. My phone line was dead yesterday morning. And when it came back, we switched to the ‘net which has been dropping to dial-up speeds lately. And before the tech could get here, they magically fixed themselves. I talked to the tech today. He had a special computer thingie that showed the horrible up and down I’ve had lately and said that he thinks someone – um, essentially rebooted? – the line which fixed both the phone and the ‘net. If it lasts. And I want to replace the water softener which hasn’t worked the past couple years. None of it is immediate/has to be done tomorrow stress. Apparently, my inner alligator doesn’t know that.

On the plus side, the weather has been pretty lovely. A little humid at times, but much cooler. I don’t know if it’s heading into fall already or we’re just getting a break. I could live with this weather for a while. I expect it will warm back up but autumn is around the corner. I’d like to do something nice for the holidays this year. Maybe for the nursing home. I’m not sure what or how much I am able to do but something. I will happily consider ideas. I have $700 in a dead account that Mom and Dad had here in town so I think that should be a decent budget. For something.

6 thoughts on “my little basketball”

    1. Voluntary napping is awesome. Random nap attacks, not so much. I’m still needing to sleep better at night so I’m not so tired during the day.

      Like

  1. I wish I could nap! It always makes me feel sick and disoriented. I get stressed when there are too many things on my plate, whether they need to be accomplished right now or not. It doesn’t matter. I’m terrified that I’ll forget something!

    Like

    1. Oh Margaret – you should see me if I accidentally fall asleep after dinner. I often lay down to read for a bit and rest my back and if I fall asleep, I’ll wake up struggling to figure out what time of day it is. Am I waking up in the morning? Did I sleep all night? Why am I still dressed? What day is it?

      Like

  2. Picking a new doctor is stressful. We couldn’t have our choice for about 8 years when we first moved here, so when the doc we wanted became available, we jumped & have stuck. Good luck.

    I like your idea of doing something special for the nursing home at Christmastime. Can’t wait to learn what you come up with.

    Like

    1. Wow. Around here, I’m not sure we’ve ever had a doctor that stuck for 8 years. Maybe up in the city. I do really hate seeing a new doctor and not knowing whether he/she will be someone who listens.

      I’ve wanted to do something for the nursing home holidays for a while but never figured out exactly what…. or waited too long. I may make cookies as part of it, but some people don’t trust homemade cookies so maybe buying them would be better. But I need more ideas.

      Like

Comments are closed.