smile, open your eyes, love and go on

mom and tab

My brother sent me this. A friend of his sent it to him. His mother in law left it for her family when she knew she was dying.

A NOTE FROM MOM:

You can shed tears that she has gone
Or you can open your eyes that she has lived.

You can close your eyes and pray that she’ll come back
Or you can open your eyes and see all that she’s left.

Your heart can be empty because you can’t see her
Or you can be full of the love you have shared.

You can turn your back on tomorrow and live yesterday
Or you can be happy for tomorrow because of yesterday.

You can remember her and only that she’s gone,
Or you can cherish her memory and let it live on.

You can cry and close your mind, be empty and turn your back,
Or you can do what she’d want: smile, open your eyes, love and go on.

6 thoughts on “smile, open your eyes, love and go on”

  1. I’ve been thinking of you a lot over the past days. You are now about a full day past the service…hope you’re having a bit of peace inside. I always think that the world shifts when we lose someone that important. And it’s hard to get your balance back. Literally.
    Be well, Pam

    Like

    1. Thank you Pam. I’m sad. Damn I was tired today. I slept. Sometimes, just like for the past almost month I am hit by great sadness now and then. Sometimes I wish I could just let go but perhaps this is just the way I grieve. I really hate crying.

      Like

  2. My condolences. I think the above Note is perfect. Perhaps impossible to do every day at first, but after a while it’ll become second nature. Again, so sorry.

    Like

Comments are closed.