11/22/1931 – 12/19/2014

mom may 2014

Mom died tonight at 6:55. I spent yesterday evening with Mom and Dad for the nursing home Christmas party. Mom appeared to be trying to cough and couldn’t really clear her throat. She has apparently been having some trouble for the last few days. I spoke with her doctor this morning and we agreed to refer her to hospice again. And then this afternoon, she was transferred to the ER with trouble breathing. I spoke with her doctor there and he arranged for hospice but did not expect her to last the night. I’m not sure whether dying in the nursing home or the hospital is preferable, but they sent her back to the nursing home where she died within half an hour.

After this long journey with Alzheimers, her final steps were very fast. This was good for her, a release from a body and mind that no longer worked for her. She passed quietly and peacefully, just minutes before I arrived. Perhaps it was a final gift from her that I did not actually have to watch her die.

Goodbye Mama. I love you.

11 thoughts on “11/22/1931 – 12/19/2014”

  1. I am so very sorry, although I know it was a release for her. Still, it’s never easy to lose a loved one and a parent. She has been in your life forever and now she’s gone. Sending love and support from afar!! ❤

    Like

  2. All my heart goes out to you. There is no way to truly prepare for the death of a parent. And while it is good for her to be released from the non-world she was in, it still hurts. I’ll be thinking of you.

    Like

  3. Thank you all. It still seems a bit surreal. I’m not sure how I feel but I guess it all happened so fast there at the end. I’m glad for her, Alzheimer’s is a miserable disease and I hope she has not be aware the last few years. I’ve been grieving her for a long time and right now I’m just tired. The tears pop up and bite me now and then.

    Like

    1. Thank you. We won’t be telling Dad. He would not understand or remember, it would just cause him pain for whatever time he did remember.

      Like

  4. I’m so sorry, Zazzy. I never know what to say in times of sorrow. I am the practical type who always goes right to work, cooking or cleaning or helping with arrangements. But there is nothing I can do to help diminish your grief, although I wish with all my heart that I could. Please accept my belated condolences. It is so hard to lose a parent.

    Like

Comments are closed.