the end of nablopomo

end of nablopomo

November is over, NaBloPoMo is through. A post every day. By that definition, we are a success over here at Chez Zaz. I started out enthusiastically and things dwindled off toward the end. I’d say that’s likely normal for most of the bloggers. Perhaps that’s just me rationalizing my own lack of inspiration.

I learned some things this November.

I knew that I would have some superficial posts going into this. I planned for it by having some recipes posts I was ready to write. But last week, looking back, I think nearly all my November posts were pretty superficial. A whole lot of fluff. Now, it’s a given that I write a lot of fluff. I still don’t know what direction this blog is taking – just drifting along that old river, I guess. But I realized that I feared those people who stop by and look and judge and don’t leave a comment. It wasn’t that many, not like when the hordes descended last fall.

And I can’t blame people for not commenting, I don’t comment much myself. It takes a lot of reading other blogs and leaving comments to make one new friend. It was my goal this year and it didn’t happen. I found a few new blogs to read and maybe one or two of them will become friendships. I am really feeling insecure right now. I’m not sure why.

And I keep wanting to throw my hands up in the air and run away.

I hope that I’ve gotten back in the habit of writing something. Not every day, but more often.

Oh, and I forgot. I learned that I tend to assume that everyone knows my stories. Never mind that I archived the blog last spring and started fresh. I may need to make a new about page or 101 list where new people can find a few basic answers about who I am.

We’ll see.

3 thoughts on “the end of nablopomo”

  1. I would love to hear more of your stories and I consider myself your close blog friend. I think I met you through this event off someone else’s blog and I’m very thankful I did!

    Like

    1. I’m not sure what stories to tell. There are some… even if I just list them out that probably the average person needs to know to make sense of the things I write. Or at least to sort of make sense of them.

      I think I may have met you through Ally’s blog – probably during nablo. I’m glad, too.

      Like

  2. Yes, I think she linked to you! And I got hooked because you are so much like me–open and honest with a dash of cynicism, but always hoping for better! xoxo

    Like

Comments are closed.