happy thanksgiving to all

And to all a kick off of the dreaded holiday shopping season. I did my holiday shopping last Monday. I’m done. Hate me if you have to. Of course, I don’t have that many people I buy for. I used to decorate right after Thanksgiving and get my cards out. These last years, I wait longer and longer. Cards have tended to go out only to people who send me cards. I often thought that I was only getting cards from many people because I sent one to them. Turns out I was right.

Thanksgiving was pretty low key here. I made turkey breast, sage sausage stuffing, sweet potatoes, herbed rolls, carrots and cranberry sauce. I never used to like cranberry sauce until I started making my own. Less sugar, lots of orange and ginger. Makes me happy.

turkey 2014

I was planning on writing about gratitude today. Not going to happen. I am thankful for many things. One of them is having a computer that keeps me connected with people around the world. So happy turkey day to you all. Wherever you are.

10 thoughts on “happy thanksgiving to all”

    1. Does anyone you know really go out to the sales? I avoid the stores like the plague this time of year. That said, I have some things I need to get from Walmart and I’m not looking forward to it at all. I’m thankful that you’re one of my online friends.

      Like

      1. No, I don’t think I know a single person who engages in the holiday sales nonsense. Someone said to me recently that people who do this kind of shopping are more interested in the game of it all…sort of like going to an amusement park and getting on the roller coaster. It’s about the thrill of it. Sounds unhealthy to me, but if that’s how some people can make themselves feel good, who am I to judge? (well…I guess I AM judging!)

        And I’m grateful we’re online friends too!

        Like

  1. A bunch of people do here which perpetuates it. There was an article on the front page of a young woman skipping Thanksgiving with her family(her mom was upset!) because she had to have a TV from Best Buy. The daughter’s comment: My family will always be there, but the TV won’t. What kind of stupid remark is that!! My daughter and I think it heralds the end of the world. Your T-dinner looks wonderful. Ours turned out well too, although we had to run the dishwasher THREE times in one day. (a new record)

    Like

    1. Oh. My. That tv is more important than my family who will “always” be there? Wow. Of course, my reason has more to do with hatred of large, pushy crowds. But reason number two would certainly be family. Heh.

      Glad that you had a good Thanksgiving. The pies looked wonderful. Delicious. Tempting. Do you know who forgot eggs and couldn’t make pies?

      Like

  2. The French silk pie didn’t call for any eggs and my mom brought the pumpkin. 🙂 So I have a dozen new eggs that I won’t even use! I like them, but don’t generally cook a lot these days.

    Like

    1. Eggs are often my go-to breakfast. Easy, fast and full of protein. An egg and a turkey sausage patty is just about perfect.

      Like

  3. Lovely to hear about your Thanksgiving day. It’s becoming more popular over here and not just with the expat community. I would have thought that the TV will always be there but family won’t! I think the woman in that article had it the wrong way round. We have Black Friday here now and there were reports of proper punch up fights in Tescos at 8 in the morning over some discounted TV or something. I’d arranged to meet a friend in town as it was her only day off, and I thought I was going to regret being there in the crowds, but I got there early and it wasn’t that bad. I did all my shopping apart from one thing so I’m pleased. I try to be grateful for something every day, and today I am also grateful and thankful that we are online friends too x

    Like

    1. I understand a lot of countries have a Thanksgiving day of some sort. You don’t in England? I can’t remember the last time I was out and about on Black Friday. I didn’t even make it to the post office. I did my shopping online. I may pick up a couple small things between now and Christmas but I’ve pretty much killed the shopping stress.

      And I’m very grateful that you are one of my online friends. I miss reading your blog.

      Like

      1. No, we don’t have a Thanksgiving Day here in the UK, but the American version seems to be becoming more popular. It’s not a holiday here, so we still go to work that day.

        Like

Comments are closed.