10 million reasons

So no Sunday Supper this week. After all, I posted a recipe for Swedish meatballs and escalloped potatoes the other day. But I ran across something interesting to think about.

It’s called the 10 million dollar diet.

money

The premise is simple.

You’ve seen the statistics; America has a bit of a weight problem. So how do we fix it?

Purveyors of diets ranging from low-carb, to Paleo, to raw, to vegan, to Atkin’s might try to convince you that their way is the true way, perhaps even the only way. The simple fact is that there is no single best diet for everyone.

There is, however, a diet that’s pretty much guaranteed to work every time.

It goes a little something like this: If you achieve your ideal weight and maintain it for at least three years, you get ten million dollars. No tricks. No games.

The original idea thought that 20 million dollars would be the ticket.

And I wondered. Would 10 million (or even 20 million) dollars be motivation to lose weight? Most diets talk about short term rewards. Would something that was years away be enough? But I like the idea. The rewards of weight loss are health and movement and looking better but in some ways, those things are vague and easy to put off – especially if you have a lot of weight to lose. Ten million dollars, however, is concrete and spendable and not a bad motivator.

Kind of a pity that I can’t try it. I volunteer to be a research subject and see if it works!

4 thoughts on “10 million reasons”

    1. I’ve played around with the idea of a lot of money many times. Sure, there are things I’d like for me but I’d like to form a charitable foundation and do things like provide diabetic supplies to people who can’t afford them. There are a lot of things you can do with money.

      Like

  1. The article from RealClearScience was very interesting. I tend to agree that a huge cash prize could be an adequate motivator for most people. For 2 million I’d lose 20 lbs. I’d do it for half a million. And I might even be able to keep the weight off as long as I knew I’d have to pay the money back if I gained the weight back.

    Like

    1. I can see it working better for losing a small amount of weight than a large amount of weight. It really would be an interesting experiment.

      Like

Comments are closed.