quirky

zoe and charlie

One of Snoskred’s suggestions for those days that I’m running out of things to write about – and hey, we’re half way through the month – was to “Tell us about a quirk or odd habit that you have.”

Well, recently I discovered that I can’t stand to touch canned cat food. I wouldn’t call it a phobia, I just can’t stand touching it. I don’t want to get any of it on my hand when I’m putting it in their bowls. I loathe touching it when I clean their bowls. I don’t want it to get on my other dishes or my sponge or in my sink – which is kind of hard when I’m washing their bowls. Crazy.

There’s nothing wrong with cat food. Zoe’s favorite Against the Grain food looks and smells just like shredded chicken. Some cat food doesn’t smell that great but my grandfather worked for Nabisco a long time ago and even then they treated pet food just the same as they treat human food. Sure, probably most of it is made with parts we might not want to eat (except for the fancy foods that the damn cats won’t eat) but it’s just food. And I just don’t want it to touch me.

Quirky. I don’t totally freak out. I don’t run screaming. It’s not a full phobia. I just don’t like it.

6 thoughts on “quirky”

    1. I guess that’s your quirk Margaret. 🙂 It is kinda slimy. When I was in physiology class we did surgery on live chickens – which turn out to have chicken lice. I couldn’t eat chicken for a long, long time after. Couldn’t cut into one without identifying all the muscles and veins and such.

      Like

  1. I cannot believe I am saying this, but we share this quirk.

    If I get it on my hands, I drop everything and have to wash it off right away.. 🙂 The kitties strongly protest this course of action, because they are hungry!

    Oddly though, when I feed them human tuna (which I do from time to time) I’m not bothered by that at all.

    Like

    1. Wow Snoskred! I am not alone in this odd little quirk. Maybe there are thousands of us out there. 🙂 My kids don’t like fish so no people tuna for them. Charlie won’t even eat people chicken.

      Like

    1. That’s three out of four of us. Perhaps Margaret just doesn’t feed her cat canned food. I’m now kind of curious how other people feel about it.

      Like

Comments are closed.