world diabetes day

November 14th is World Diabetes Day. I agree with Wil that wishing you a “happy” World Diabetes Day is incongruous. There’s not a lot that’s “happy” about diabetes.

This year’s theme is Healthy living and diabetes. The thing is that the ADA healthy living recommendation are pretty much the same as anyone’s recommendations for healthy living. A healthy, well balanced diet, low in fat, especially trans-fat and saturated fat, moderate in salt and sugar, and containing fiber rich foods like whole grains, fruits and vegetables. Exercise. The usual, you know.

I think these things are complicated by diabetes and also probably more important for someone with diabetes. But I hate to lecture. From a type 2 standpoint, the healthy living stuff is important for everyone and I wish I had embraced the ideas before I was diagnosed. There is a possibility that I would not have become diabetic or at least I could have delayed the onset. But you know what they say about wishes.

Anyway, here’s a little quiz about the a healthy diabetic diet I wrote some years ago when learning web design. Javascript is used, which is not the same as Java, but you may need to have java enabled to use the quiz.

How much do you know about diabetes and eating?
The diabetic diet is really strict and hard to follow. True
False
You can never eat sugar again. True
False
Eating too much sugar causes diabetes. True
False
It’s okay to eat starchy foods like bread, potatoes or pasta even if you have diabetes. True
False
Sugar free foods and drinks are better because you can eat as much of them as you want. True
False
Artificial sweeteners are dangerous. True
False
You have to count what you eat with diabetes, even healthy foods like fruit or vegetables. True
False

If you want to read more about type 2 diabetes or just see my outdated design skills, check out A Curve in the Road or The Diabetic Bistro. I warn you that many of the links don’t work and some of the information (like medications) is outdated.

2 thoughts on “world diabetes day”

  1. I did pretty well on your quiz, except that I didn’t think it was OK to eat starchy foods; my mom always complains about how much they raise her blood sugar. 🙂 I would hate watching how and what I eat; it would be tedious.

    Like

    1. It is tedious and I’m not doing a good job with it these days. Starchy foods are somewhat easier (sort of) for those with type 1 diabetes as they can compensate with insulin.

      Like

Comments are closed.