life bridges

our bridge

I don’t know what to write today. It’s hard, when something serious has happened, to go back to focusing on the trivial. I updated yesterday’s post after writing to a friend about my feelings on Beth’s death. I just couldn’t write yesterday morning. She was one of my best friends.

We weren’t as close as we had been, living across the country from each other. But on those occasions that we were able to be together it was just like old times. I met Beth when I went to interview for a job at the hospital where she worked. She was assigned to show me around and we drove all over the Black Hills and spent the whole day together. No one could have been more welcoming. She was also integral in my getting the job and became my supervisor. We spent a lot of time together, both professionally and outside work and remained close after the big hospital layoffs when I moved across the state.

Some years later when a friend of her’s was looking for someone for his private practice, she thought of me and helped me get an interview. I know her recommendation was a big part of my moving back to Wyoming. I once borrowed her husband to take as my plus 1 to a fancy dinner since I, as usual, was not dating anyone. Homer did so many little things for me, like wait at my house for the repairman when I had to be at work. Or pick my dog up at the kennel when my flight was too late and he would have been stuck there two more days. They included me for holidays when I couldn’t go home. They were there when I had surgery, waiting with me when I stressed out. In fact, Beth was the person who came and picked me up from the ER at 2:00 in the morning when I couldn’t drive home since I was doped up with demerol. Coincidentally, I was the one who was on the phone with her when she fell and broke her ankle and I was the one that came and drove her to the hospital and cooked her dinner for a couple weeks while she could not get around.

Life intervened and we ended up across the country from each other again. As often happens, we called and talked but with gradually less frequency. Life changes, people move on. We got together a few times, mostly as she was traveling. We took a trip back to Wyoming together. But we weren’t as close. You never really are when your paths deviate. I wish I had called her more often. I wish we’d found a way to stay close even while far apart. I hope there is an afterlife and she and her husband are happy together again.

I guess I did have something to write.

4 thoughts on “life bridges”

  1. I’m sorry for your loss. Even if you did go your different ways, you’ve written a lovely tribute to your friend. She sounds like gold. You were lucky to have known her. My condolences.

    Like

  2. Lovely tribute to her and perfectly describes the magic and pain of friendships; you want them to last forever and to keep making and sharing memories, yet life(and distance) get in the way. It’s difficult to see my closest retired friends get a bit more distant every year; I am still teaching and they are out of that lifestyle. The newer teachers are young, brash and not interested in the same things I am.

    Like

    1. Oh, that’s so true. I know part of it is being out here away from everyone but part is not being involved in the same jobs and interested in the same thing. Astute observation. Another reason for you to retire?

      Like

Comments are closed.