two totally unrelated things

Coming soon on a Chickens & Eggs near you – several new recipes. I spent the summer making mostly recipes I already love or trying recipes that didn’t work out that well. Now that it’s cooler, and possibly because the computer was down for a couple weeks, I’ve tried several new recipes. Some even came out well. Posting it here to encourage me to get them written up.

mystery

Okay maybe these things are slightly related. While the computer was down, Netflix coincidentally introduced a bunch of collections of programs from HGTV and the DIY network. I have a real fascination with do it yourself and decorating and house tours. I might have said before that as someone who has lived almost always in the midwest or the inter-mountain west, watching the crazy prices for houses along either coast is just nuts.

But House Hunters and House Hunters International are also a kind of people watching thing. Is it fake? Parts of it are, or at least sort of re-enacted. I am always amazed by the couples who can’t agree on anything and are determined to get things their own way. Newlyweds or married for years – I’d like a follow up and find out whether they’re still together because it sure doesn’t seem like they could be. Don’t you wonder what they think when they see themselves on TV? And on a side note, I remember reading about this phenommenum somewhere in the last few years but what is it with young women ending every sentence with an pitch upswing so that it sounds like a question. “I like the kitchen???” I think the article I read talked about the speech pattern suggesting they want or need to be taken care of or to been seen as childlike. I don’t know but it drives me nuts.

6 thoughts on “two totally unrelated things”

  1. I don’t like that pitch upswing thing either. Didn’t know about the meaning behind it, but it makes sense to me.

    You’re right, on those house hunter shows I gotta wonder about some of those relationships. The couple’s expectations and arrogant attitudes fascinate me, but repulse me at the same time. Plus, they pick the wrong houses all. the. time. So weird.

    Like

    1. Fascinate and repulse is it exactly! Particularly, for me, the kids barely out of their parent’s house that can’t live without granite countertops and spa like bathrooms covered in carrera marble.

      Like

    1. That part of the shows – the watching of dysfunctional relationships – triggers feelings from trying to work with couples. Couples don’t tend to come to counseling until it’s too late, at least in my experience. Sometimes I frustrate me that I can’t just be amused by these couples.

      Like

  2. That speech pattern, called by some HRT for high rising terminal (not to be confused with hormone replacement therapy), is a very interesting topic to me too. I think I do it sometimes, usually when I’m talking to my husband and I detect that he’s only partially listening to me. I think my brain says “pose your sentence as a question and he’ll have to respond.” Another speech pattern I’m intrigued by is the tendency for some people to answer questions by using the word “so” at the beginning of their answers. Good article about that phenom here: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/22/us/22iht-currents.html?_r=0
    And I really, really hate it when politicians start a sentence with the word “look.” So obnoxious.

    And speaking of food — which you did at the beginning of this post — thanks for the idea of freezing grapes. It’s my new food passion. I’ve read that each grape has only 5 calories (not a huge grape, just a medium grape) which sounds promising, calorie-wise, but I’m entirely capable of overeating even healthy food. In a few days I’ll know if my digestive system can handle that much fiber…TMI, right?

    Like

    1. Thanks Pam! I see, looking around briefly, that HRT may be normal for some British and Australian accents, which is not what I was talking about. But even more interesting to find that there are very differing opinions about what it means in American speech. This one was the one I was remembering, “Linguist Robin Lakoff drew attention to the pattern in her book Language and Women’s Place, which argued that women were socialized to talk in ways that lacked power, authority, and confidence. Rising intonation on declarative sentences was one of the features Lakoff included in her description of ‘women’s language,’ a gendered speech style which in her view both reflected and reproduced its users’ subordinate social status.” I am not an expert but I have to say that the young women I hear doing that tend to sound subordinate.

      Frozen grapes! Yum! A handful is remarkably satisfying. Maybe because they feel more substantial. Bursts of cold, sweet, goodness.

      Like

Comments are closed.