adventures in computer repair

harddrive

Well, that’s the bad old drive that suddenly conked out without any warning. It was, to say the least, a bit of a surprise. And not particularly convenient. At least I could still connect to the internet but typing was far too tedious on the Kindle. The local computer guy I spoke with recommended I replace the tower with a $300 Acer ’cause it’d be faster. Maybe it would but it wouldn’t be set up for gaming or graphics intense programs.

Changing out my hard drive took me $83 and about 5 minutes once Dell got its head out of its ass. Did I tell you? I ordered a new hard drive, decided to just go with what I had since I knew it would work with all the components, graphics card, etc. You see, Dell said my credit card had declined the purchase. I contacted Visa who said Dell had not even submitted a purchase so I replied to Dell and waited to hear back. A charge still hadn’t gone through so I used the link they sent me to live chat and the link didn’t work. So I found the link for live chat on their site and it, after an annoying long time explaining the problem, turned out to be the “wrong” live chat. That person gave me a link to another live chat that did not work. I turned to the phones and got bounced around from stupid person to stupid person for the better part of an hour. When I got accidentally sent to the right department (it had to be an accident, didn’t it?) they concluded that I had given them the wrong credit card number. You know, the card that they’ve had on file for the past 3+ years that I’ve used repeatedly to order ink. But they did finally FedEx the drive.

On a side note, I had to put up a sign for FedEx since I have packages delivered downstairs and they are apparently not that bright. The sign read: Dear FedEx: This is a shed. (nobody lives in the shed) If you take a few steps to the left you will find an actual door to the house. There’s even a doorbell. The last two times, FedEx has left packages at the shed door.

Installing the hard drive was easy enough. Even reinstalling windows and all the drivers was fine. Updating all the drivers was incredibly tedious but fine. Then it was time for Carbonite to give me back all my files and naturally I lost my password and it didn’t like my answers to the challenge questions to reset. Their help team could really use 24/7 hours but otherwise they were helpful and the giant download started. It was estimated to take 3 days. The problem was when it was done. I had all the files I needed and yet it said It had 16,637 files to go. Near as I can tell, it was downloading program log files and I honestly don’t need those. Nor did I need another day of downloading. Carbonite support, as opposed to Dell, helped get the problem solved in minutes and it’s back to backing up my files instead of trying to force feed me files I didn’t want.

I’ve got most of my programs up and running. There are a few things I need to download and a few others I need to install, but it’s at a workable level now and finishing up shouldn’t take me that long. On the plus side, I’ve got a really clean install and I’m much more organized if I have to do this again at some long distant time in the future. Hopefully, the “next time” will be me setting up a new computer once I get one built. Yup, that’s right. I hope to build my next one myself. I should probably start planning for that before it becomes an emergency.

9 thoughts on “adventures in computer repair”

  1. I love a clean install. 🙂

    I’m playing theme hospital, again, because I love that game. 🙂 GOG or good old games has been awesome to find all the old games I love.

    Like

    1. The best part of a clean install is none of the stupid programs that Dell put on to begin with. Makes me think if I ever buy another computer made by someone else that I should immediately format the disc and reinstall everything without the extra crap.

      Like

  2. You are incredible! I need a techie like you because suddenly comcast won’t let me upload photos to my blog. It says I have 100mbps which should be plenty of speed, but neither my desktop or my state of the art Windows 8.1 laptop would do so. However, I tested it at school on the district network and it worked fine, so it’s comcast. I think I’m in for a lot of NO FUN.

    Like

    1. I feel incredible! Probably your average 12 year old could have done everything I did. But it makes me happy to get something like this done by myself.

      I’m still thinking your slow down may be your blog host. While you were at school it was a lighter traffic time of day and your host may be having evening slow downs. Or not. 🙂

      Like

  3. You are speaking gibberish to me. I know almost nothing about how a computer works. I wish that it was a topic of interest to me, but it isn’t. So I go with Apple computers and a prayer– which seem to keep me up & running.

    [You’re the 3rd blogger who has been having major probs with her computer this month. Maybe it’s all in the stars and not in your hard drives after all. 😉 ]

    Like

    1. Well, if it’s in the stars, it can move on and torment someone else.

      I hope you keep that Apple of your’s backed up. You know, they do crash too.

      Like

    1. I don’t know Pam. I don’t mind risking my own computer – though I’d be really upset if I totally screwed it up – but I would really be afraid of messing up someone else’s.

      Like

Comments are closed.