it’s kind of funny

curly branches

Last winter I threw my hands up in the air and shouted that I didn’t know what I wanted to do with the blog, but I was unhappy with it. I spent February writing daily – light and entertaining posts – which interested no one. I decided to take a blog vacation and was gone throughout March. So, during March I had so much I thought I wanted to write and I re-made the blog, archived the old and made the new pretty design. And then I again seemed to have nothing to write.

The blog has dragged through the spring and suddenly it’s summer. I’m writing next to nothing. I want to write. I’m not, I guess, an entertaining blogger. I get tired of complaining and whatnot – although I recognize the value of a good vent. I have two people left who read and comment and maybe two others who occasionally read and comment once in a while.

I’m just talking to myself.

So, if I’m just going to be talking to myself, I might as well vent and complain and maybe be funny once in a while.

And while I’m at it, I’m going to be ending sentences with prepositions, splitting infinitives right and left, starting sentences with And or But, and I will use words and phrases that have come to mean something other than their original intention.

Because I could care less.

7 bogus grammar ‘errors’ you don’t need to worry about

8 thoughts on “it’s kind of funny”

  1. I saw that grammar “errors” article too! As a professional editor, I’ve been yammering for decades about most of it — telling writers that, yes, they can split an infinitive; yes, they can end a sentence with a preposition; and yes, they can start a sentence with a conjunction. They hear me, but they cling to their preconceived notions. But the one item on that list that I do NOT like is this one:
    ‘Don’t use “which” as a relative pronoun.’ Sorry, but the habit is too deeply etched in my brain and I’m not willing to change.

    Love the photo.

    Like

    1. I do most of those things in casual writing anyway. I just can’t stand to write “of which I am grateful” rather than something I’m grateful for. It’s too stilted.

      Like

  2. Love this, Zaz. This is a great attitude to have toward blogging. It’s your blog and you can do/say whatever you want and discuss WHATEVER comes into your mind. I did cringe a bit at “I could care less”–LOL. 🙂

    Like

    1. We’re of an age, Margaret. I just can’t say “I could care less” without wanting to correct myself.

      Like

  3. I think that you’re onto something with your latest approach to blogging. Do what works for you.

    Read the article. I can go along with everything BUT using the word “hopefully.” That is just plain wrong. Won’t do it. Can’t make me.

    Like

    1. I admit I use hopefully and unfortunately. I may feel stupid when I do so, but they just work better for me than the proper alternative. Oh well. At least I never, ever use “ur” or “u.”

      Like

  4. And I’ll bet you never write “it’s” when you mean “its,” “your” when you mean “you’re,” or “there” when you mean “their” (or “they’re”). Those are the mistakes that really make me wince.

    Like

Comments are closed.