time to let go

February and my month long experiment in short and mostly trivial posts has come to an end. I knew by about mid way through that it was time to let go, but I wanted to see the month out. I wanted to be sure I wasn’t making a hasty decision.

I have been blogging for almost 12 years. I started on Live Journal and it was, in a way, much more similar to FaceBook than to blogging. I moved from platform to platform until I finally went out on my own. I have met many interesting people and some of them have become real friends. I have written about my life and my parents and diabetes and depression. I have written a lot on eating and food and self acceptance.

I have said it all.

It is time to let go and that is not a decision I have made lightly. The closer I got to today, the more I started rationalizing. Would it kill me to keep the blog running, even if everything I write feels old and tired? Probably not. But I think it is time.

I am not going to disappear. First, I own this domain. I plan to archive this incarnation of the blog and something will go up as a placeholder. Not sure what, but something. I plan to keep Chickens and Eggs, at least for now. I have some plans for cleaning up posts there. And I plan to keep reading your blogs (or emails as the case may be). I had planned to get rid of Twitter and Facebook, but I decided just to hide the annoying stuff on Facebook and I think I may reactivate Twitter, just not going to follow very many people. I am simplifying, trying to find balance. And I don’t know, perhaps in time I will feel inspired to start another blog.

If you would like my email address to keep in touch, just let me know.

9 thoughts on “time to let go”

    1. Thank you Nicole. I have always appreciated your comments. I wish you had written more, you have great insights.

      Like

  1. I DECLINE THIS. 🙂

    Take a break, if you need. We will still be here when you feel like you have something to say again, when you need to speak, when you want to speak, or even if you just want to share a photo or a thought. 😉

    All bloggers go through this myself included. I’ve been feeling like it was time to say something over at my place again, just haven’t got around to it yet. You may just inspire me to get to it.

    Like

  2. Oh, no!! I’m very sad about this. Your posts help me more than you know and inspire me too. However, you have to do what’s best for you and what feels right. I sometimes think I should give up my blog and don’t write for a while, but then get a burning desire to write something. I’m glad you’re not completely closing the door. 🙂 I already have your e-mail, don’t I?

    Like

    1. I think you do Margaret – and you could always friend me on FB provided you don’t post a bunch of political spam. Somehow, I doubt that you do. 🙂

      I have no idea what is next for me. For all I know, I’ll decide in a week or a month that I want the blog back. Or maybe I’ll do some kind of photo blog. We’ll see. I really do have a lot of work to do on Chickens and Eggs and my older projects. Maybe I’ll finally learn mySQL and re-do my quotations page. Who knows?

      Like

  3. Just leave all your options open. That’s what I always tell my girls…and myself. How in the world do I find you on FB? Maybe you should find me since my name is very unusual. 😉 I don’t do political spam and I try to keep it fairly light on FB. (Margaret Lite, you know)

    Like

  4. Oh, I get what you’re saying here. Blogging has changed so much from the early days. I miss the sense of community that was once part & parcel of the experience. I’ll miss you, but hope that you turn up on twitter again. Or here, even. Perhaps a monthly update letting us know what’s going on with you? Yes?

    Like

    1. No idea what I’ll do. I reactivated twitter – I think I am following you and Polly and my hosting service. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.