an exciting day

I made it out of the house today. I had planned to Tuesday, then Wednesday, but today was the day. Yay me.

You’d think that after all those weeks of being trapped in the house by the snow that I would run flying out the door every chance I get. Not so. Complicated by a week of upside down sleep. I’ve managed to get to sleep before 4AM the last couple nights and that has decreased my sleep-all-afternoon behavior, which helps when it comes to getting out of the house.

It was a day full of excitement. I went to local grocery and bought out the deli. I’m not in the mood to cook, I am in the mood for sandwiches. Probably I bought too much and will have to freeze some when my sandwich fixation runs out before my deli meat.

And off to the post office. Nothing too exciting there.

Then to the bank where I got my parents’ local account “re-written.” The bank changed hands last year and why they didn’t do this when I filed all the POA stuff is beyond me. Having fun proving they exist. It’s kind of funny, the nice bank lady asked if Mom and Dad couldn’t just sign some papers and I had to explain that it’s not actually legal for them to do so. That’s why I’m the POA, they can’t legally make financial decisions. Oh well. Will be paying roughly $200 to get their safe deposit box drilled. I do need to know what’s in there though I can’t imagine what could be besides maybe their will. Could be that they still have saving bonds?

One of my memories from childhood regarding money is Mom standing at the bank window endorsing $25 after $25 savings bonds to pay for a car they bought. We are talking about car prices in the 70s but – that is a lot of $25 saving bonds.

And that was my exciting day.

4 thoughts on “an exciting day”

  1. I’m so glad you got out, but what you’re dealing with regarding mom and dad-oy veh. My husband paid $8000 cash for the car that my younger daughter drives. You should have seen the salesman’s face when he brought in all that money!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah, I remember Mom pulling out her checkbook when the salesman was nagging for “earnest money” one time. In my memory, they always saved enough to buy their cars for cash and it did freak salespeople out.

      Which reminds me of a car I didn’t buy. I found a jeep I liked and my insurance company wanted to finance it for me. So I asked how much it cost. The salesman told me it was so much per month. I told him I didn’t care how much it was per month, I wanted to know the price. He told me it was a great deal at so much per month. I said I had my own financing, how much was the price of the car? He tried again on the so much per month and I again asked for the actual price. He eventually told me I didn’t want to buy the car there and I should go somewhere else. Bizarre.

      Like

  2. My parents paid cash [with a checkbook] for cars, too.

    My understanding of car dealerships is that they make more profit on the financing of cars than on the sale of cars. So if they can hook you with a monthly payment amount, they make money in two ways. First from the lending company they push you into using– and then from you for overpaying for your car.

    Clearly you weren’t playing their game, so they had no use for you.

    Like

    1. Agreed Ally. I just always thought it was crazy to at least not make the money by selling me the car. They really must have been getting a major kick back. I’m much older now and wonder whether there is someone I should have reported this to – is it fraud?

      Like

Comments are closed.