I’ve got sunshine

The last two days have been delightfully sunshiney. The sky is blue. The snow and ice have almost completely melted. It was, in fact, 53°F today.

Aaahhh.

I meant to take pictures but I was so excited to get out of the house, get the mail, get my scripts, buy some decaffeinated green tea – I forgot my camera. I also forgot my phone. I never leave the house without my phone. Oh, and I took the trash out. I have a box full of collapsed boxes I need to get upstairs but I got the rest out.

I’m eating fish tacos tonight. Not chicken. I’ve eaten a lot of chicken the last 10 days. I have found that fish tacos are tasty when made with fish sticks or breaded fish fillets. Probably that destroys all the health benefits but they’re good. And infrequent.

It’s only the middle of February. We have plenty of time for more bad weather and if the winter so far is any indication, we will get more. But now, this week and for the next forecast week, it’s beautiful.

6 thoughts on “I’ve got sunshine”

  1. I love fish tacos with cole slaw, cheese and salsa. We made them at school a few times but with halibut. (we had a fisherman on staff who provided wonderful fish) Glad that the snow melted so that you could get out. Our temps were about the same as yours!

    Like

    1. I’ll try them again with healthier fish. I think I like the crispy fish or the fish I used before just had no flavor. I used a sweet/hot salsa and I like sour cream or guacamole. And I am so glad it’s warm – at least for a while.

      Like

  2. I love fish too but I’m toying with the idea of adopting a more vegan diet for a while, to see what it’s like. Love salmon with coleslaw and those breaded ones are delicious. Lucky you with the sunshine! We are still being absolutely battered by the storms and gales. We’re not flooded here but the roads roundabout are and the little man’s school grounds were flooded (but not the school, thankfully). Another storm is blowing in today, so there will be more of the same Enjoy the beautiful tranquility!

    Like

    1. Everyone I know seems to be toying with vegan lately. I could probably – possibly – be vegetarian again. Maybe. But I don’t think I could be vegan. I’d never give up cheese. Or eggs. Or even milk. But doing more meatless meals, more emphasis on vegetables is something I think would be good for me.

      I’m so sorry for your storms and floods. I hope that you stay safe and the storms pass. It’s been a miserable winter.

      Like

  3. It’s starting to thaw here, too. There’s sunshine + melting everywhere. I want to believe that winter is over, but…

    Fish tacos sound tasty. I’ve never tried making them at home and I have no idea why I haven’t. Perhaps next week I’ll give ’em a go.

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Zazzy.

    Like

    1. And happy cheering as the parade goes by to you, too, Ally. Glad that you are thawing and I hope that you dry up soon. And yes, I hope that winter is over. I’m delusional that way.

      Like

Comments are closed.