words to begin with, more words toward the end

From Ally Bean’s blog, I took this vocabulary test and scored 35,200. They’re doing research – possibly research on people inclined to take vocabulary tests 🙂 so if you’re inclined, it doesn’t take very long. I found myself curious about whether I would have been able to figure out some of the words I didn’t know in context.

Leo Babuta wrote the single most ridiculous post I have ever seen on dealing with pain. He actually compared a temporary case of poison oak with living with chronic pain. Not that everything he said was useless, it was more the context of “I feel miserable, what must it be like for someone who feels miserable all the time?” that threw me for a loop. Trust me Leo, you don’t survive with chronic pain for long if you don’t learn to let go and accept what is pretty quickly. I ran across this recently and it sums up how we cope pretty well:

on particularly rough days when i’m sure i can’t possibly endure, i like to remind myself that my track record for getting through bad days so far is 100% and that’s pretty good. ~vinnie genovesi

I probably complain too much – or at least it feels like I do – but I’m not sure I’ve ever written about what it’s like to be in constant pain. I know I get tired of seeing similar things posted by a friend on FB. I feel like the more you beat people over the head with the spoon analogy or demand they understand why you don’t get things done, the more you’re inclined to stay in an unhealthy place. On the other hand, if we never talk about it then people really don’t get the difference between temporary discomfort and chronic – even moderate chronic pain.

It’s a hard balance sometimes, but it’s like living with depression or diabetes or any chronic condition of your choice. If it’s all you focus on, your life becomes limited to that one thing. And that’s what I’m struggling with regarding my writing lately. Yes, I’m working on these goals to try and change some aspects of my life but it feels like all I write or think about. It feels out of balance.

So, this week I’m going to try and put some thought into the words project; to really think about how I want to feel and what would help me get there. The other stuff – the ongoing goals, the struggle with eating and not eating will continue in the background. I just don’t intend to write about them as much.

4 thoughts on “words to begin with, more words toward the end”

  1. I think that unless you’ve lived with chronic pain, you do not understand how it takes over your life, changes everything. Babuta probably meant well, but didn’t quite understand his topic. Lucky man.

    Glad that you liked the Vocabulary Test enough to share it with your readers. Sometimes those online tests make for some of the best conversations in the comment section.

    Like

    1. I enjoyed the vocabulary test. And I enjoyed the conversation about it over on your website. The best part of blogging has always been the comments.

      Like

  2. I took it too and got 34,700, but I feel dishonest because my French helped me a bit. 🙂 I don’t think that any of us can truly understand what someone else’s “shoes” feel like. We try to empathize, but it has its limits. There are very few who can relate to how stark and just plain WEIRD my life is without Patt. I love those who try to imagine though and send me caring thoughts. I wish we didn’t all have to carry so many physical, emotional or mental burdens. 😦

    Like

    1. Hey, my background in psych bought me a few words, too.

      And I agree, we try to empathize. We aren’t always successful but I think putting down our arrogance that we can imagine what someone else is feeling helps. I don’t mean we don’t try to imagine, but we need to understand that even if it looks the same from the outside it is not necessarily the same on the inside.

      And of course, I am not always successful at that. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.