42

I have decided to ban Deep Thought from the blog for the remainder of this year. I just want to relax and have fun for the next couple of weeks.

I have been thinking and if you want to spend a few odd minutes thinking, here are some of the things I’m thinking about.

  • The definition of female beauty – or the you can never be too thin mentality – is based on a male dominated society which seeks to repress women’s power. Or so some people think. I’ve got mixed feelings about this. I get where the idea is coming from but I’m not sure it’s still true today. But then again, when models are pre-pubescently thin and featureless is that a way of saying women should be children? Small, weak, powerless?
  • Maura posted THIS about what does she want to feel like – as opposed to what do I want to look like or what job do I want to have. I like the idea and I plan to give it some thought.
  • The new Kellogg’s commercial about fat talk … I feel really torn. On the one hand, the superficial message is something I agree with and I’m working on. But after our various discussions this fall, I can never look at just the superficial message. Kellogg spent years telling us that if we could “pinch more than an inch” we were too fat and even while they are telling us not to fat talk, they’re selling us diet products. That’s what they want to do, sell us diet products. So they’re shaking our hands and telling us not to “fat talk” but hey, buy these products to help you lose weight. It’s confusing me.

And now, back to trying to relax. I’m off to Cassville to do the end of my shopping and to drop off gifts at the nursing home for tomorrow’s party. Tomorrow I’m back there to go to Family Night. I really should stop and get that x-ray today. We’ll see. Gotta get stuff done while the weather is good.

I hope everyone out there is doing well and finding time to relax and enjoy the season. Be careful out there.

5 thoughts on “42”

  1. The world is filled with mixed messages, isn’t it? I’m right there with you re: no more blogging depth for this year. Bring on the merry & bright! Let’s celebrate, shall we?

    Like

    1. Let’s get with the making Merry. I bought a fuzzy red cardinal today. Okay, he’s supposed to be a dog toy but I figure he’ll look good with my Christmas Moose. He’s got a hat.

      Like

  2. I do deep thoughts when they come to me and right now, I’m out of them! (too much other stuff going on) Hope you’re feeling better and that the parties go well! Is beauty in women mainly tied in with weight? It seems to be in our culture, which is wrong.

    Like

    1. I don’t know Margaret. I’m thinking that most women don’t start nit-picking their other features so much unless they’re happy with their weight? Is that insane? It just seems like weight is the first thing to trigger those ugly feelings.

      Like

Comments are closed.