best laid plans

Good morning. What day is it? I’ve lost track. My week has turned upside down.

Sunday evening I was hit with really awful back spasms. I think it’s been 15 years or more since I’ve had this kind of continuous muscle spasms. I am really glad my doctor prescribes a full dose of muscle relaxers even though I rarely take more than one per day. That means I already have the treatment here. It has, in the past, taken weeks to get these under control. So, I’m more or less pleased that I’m moving easier already. I stiffen up when I sleep for a couple hours and if I sit too long, the muscles start spasming all over again. But still, there is improvement.

Enough whining. All this means is that my expectations for the week have changed. It’s kind of funny, however, that when you throw a wrench in my plans I seem to think I don’t have to do anything at all. Meatless Monday turned into Less Meat Monday. I don’t think there’s a good reason for not eating away from my desk, but I’m still sitting here. Okay, I’m not getting out to flea markets till I’m on less drugs and can move more easily. I just feel like I’m coasting and that is kind of a pattern for me. I get a little bump in the road and just throw the goals out the window for a while. I may not be able to do my more physical goals right now, but I could be reading and working on the behind the goals stuff.

So, that’s my main goal the next few days. I’ve been looking through my pile of useful books and have decided to start with When Women Stop Hating Their Bodies because I think I need to address that part in order to make lasting changes in other areas.

7 thoughts on “best laid plans”

  1. Back spasms–OUCH. That would definitely make me change my plans and not feel like doing much. Less meat Monday sounds like progress toward the goal at least.

    Like

  2. ” It’s kind of funny, however, that when you throw a wrench in my plans I seem to think I don’t have to do anything at all. Meatless Monday turned into Less Meat Monday. I don’t think there’s a good reason for not eating away from my desk, but I’m still sitting here.”
    and
    “I get a little bump in the road and just throw the goals out the window for a while.”

    I can totally identify with those feelings.

    Like

    1. Thank you Hannah! And nice to see you, how’ve you been?

      Yes, I’m using a heating pad. Zoe especially loves it when I do. I need to pull out my electric blanket and see if it still works. Zoe loved it better than anything.

      Like

  3. Fighting off a cold at the moment, but doing okay, thanks! 🙂 We had our first frost this morning – very early for this area. The electric blanket sounds good!

    Like

Comments are closed.