why I love pooh (#lmwlchallenge)

When I up, down and touch the ground
It puts me in the mood
Up, down and touch the ground
In the mood for food

I am stout, round and I have found
Speaking poundage wise
I improve my appetite
When I exercise

I am short, fat and proud of that
And so, with all my might
I up, down and up and down
To my appetite’s delight

While I up, down and touch the ground
I think of things to chew, like honey
With a hefty happy appetite, I’m a hefty happy Pooh
With a hefty happy appetite, he’s a hefty happy Pooh

I love Winnie the Pooh. I guess I identify with him. There is certainly an Eeyore part of me and an Owl part. Hell, there’s even a Mrs. Kanga part that wants to mother people.

Pooh probably could have benefited from a more varied diet, but he loved himself for who he was. He was unashamed of loving his honey but that didn’t mean he didn’t love his friends – his life wasn’t one dimensional. When you think of Pooh, sure you think honey – but you also think of all his friends.

What I want: the magic pill. The one that makes me happy and healthy and pretty and thin and not in pain by tomorrow morning.

What I need: to lovingly accept myself where I am right now. To take care of myself with respect for all of me – physically, mentally, emotionally, and socially. To know that this is a long process. To eat a variety of foods, including desserts, in moderation. To eat to nourish my body, not my emotions. To get back out there socially – and that may be the hardest one right there. None of this is going to happen overnight and I can’t fix everything at the same time. Small goals. Gradual change.

“When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”

“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”

“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet.

Pooh nodded thoughtfully. “It’s the same thing,” he said.”
― A.A. Milne

Coming tomorrow: What I learned from this month and how I plan to move on from here.

4 thoughts on “why I love pooh (#lmwlchallenge)”

  1. My husband and I LOVED (still love) Winnie the Pooh and were sad when our daughters gave up watching it. We still did whenever it struck our fancy. Patt could do a spot on imitation of Eeyore. Made us all laugh! Such great characters in that show.

    Like

    1. Pooh helps me relax when I’m stressed out. I gave away all my Pooh tapes when I moved south… now I suppose I have to replace them.

      Like

  2. thank you for the very sweet reminder of pooh as he does make me smile. oh I so want to be more like him and his approach to life. perhaps he will be my new role model? one could certainly do much worse.

    getting out more socially – well let’s be honest and make that any socially – is a challenge for me also. And I find that it is more than I can do most times. Forget pretty, I just want to feel healthier and not be so tired and sick feeling all the time. To have at least one person I can trust in this world who will not hurt me physically or emotionally? Why does it feel that that is too much to ask for?

    here’s to you in pooh 🙂

    Like

    1. Social stuff is hard. Anxiety is part of it for me, but I live in a resort area with a lot of elderly people and weekenders. I’m sure it’s possible to make friends here but it just doesn’t happen with me sitting at home all the time.

      Totally agree on feeling healthier and not being so tired, etc. I’ve recently realized how much I miss walking and this is such a beautiful area it’s a shame I can’t take advantage of that. As for one person you can trust, it’s not too much to ask for. I’m sorry you’ve had such a hard time with hurtful people. I know it’s hard to risk again but when you feel ready, I hope there are some good, kind people who will become part of your life.

      Like

Comments are closed.