#lmwlchallenge days 12 and 13

Saturday was all about the cooking! Hey, that’s my area. I waffled over what I wanted to make but eventually settled on fish tacos. I’ve really been wanting to try them – they’re all over the cooking shows and everyone loves them. So I set about making the best and freshest fish tacos that I could make – short of making my own tortillas, but I considered doing that too.

I made my own chimichurri sauce. There are a bunch of recipes – I’m not sure two are the same. What I eventually settled on was cilantro, parsley, onion, garlic, jalapeno, lime juice, salt and a bit of canola oil. (most recipes used olive oil, turns out I don’t like EVOO in salad dressing like applications) It was delicious. I marinated my fish fillets in it and I even baked it in the chimichurri for the most flavor possible.

I made my own pico de gallo. Onions, cilantro, parsley, garlic, jalapenos, lime juice, salt and tomatoes. Amazingly similar, really, but the proportions are a bit different. It was sublime. A little spicier than the chimichurri – just right in my opinion.

I made my own guacamole. Hell, what is it really besides avocado with pico de gallo and a little more lime juice and jalapeno? Fantastico! I loves me some guacamole.

Tortilla – fish fillet with chimichurri – guacamole made with the delicioso pico de gallo – and it was somehow really, really bland. And tasteless. The fish magically sucked out all the deliciousness I prepared. I don’t know how. I don’t know why. I don’t know why all you people love this stuff.

I was supposed to put some tangy cole slaw onto it. I bought the cabbage but decided I wanted the guac and pico, etc. I’ve still got some fish, maybe the tangy cole slaw will help. Or maybe frying the fillets – I know some people fry them. I may as well cook the rest of the fish but I want to know what sucked out all my tasty deliciousness. Anybody know?

It was fun anyway. I enjoy cooking and experimenting and I have leftover chimchurri, pico de gallo, and guacamole. So I can give it another try. Maybe half a cup of sriracha would help.

Sunday is take a bath day. I wish I had a bathtub. Anyone who wants to donate the roughly $5000 to install a handicap bathtub, please line up on the right. No pushing.

I really do wish I had a tub. I miss taking a nice relaxing bath and I think it would be great for the arthritis and other pain. Back in the day, I got up an extra hour early for work so I could blissfully start my day soaking in a hot tub. For those that freak out about potentially dirty bath water, the answer is shower > bath > shower. I used to eat breakfast and read in the tub for as long as possible. It made mornings so much better and was totally worth getting up early.

I haven’t come up with an alternative. I sleep very badly and I’m already under orders to nap when necessary. Plus I lay down for a while most afternoons to read and elevate my leg. Those are the most relaxing things I can think of. I could meditate. I haven’t finished listening to and doing the exercises in my Pema Chodron download. That may be the closest thing I can do, but a bath sure would be nice.


Coming Week

Day #14
Monday, 9/16: Put Your Fork Down In Between Bites

Day #15
Tuesday, 9/17: Say No

Day #16
Wednesday, 9/18: Forgive Someone

Day #17
Thursday, 9/19: Pay Attention to Why You’re Eating

Day #18
Friday, 9/20: Write a List of Fun Things You Want To Do and Put The List On Your Fridge

Day #19
Saturday, 9/21: When You’re Not Hungry, Do Something Besides Eating

Day #20
Sunday, 9/22: Go To a Museum

4 thoughts on “#lmwlchallenge days 12 and 13”

  1. I take a bath every day and it is way more relaxing than a shower. Fish tacos are good–how about some spicy salsa to put on them to give them some kick? It does sound like what you used should have worked though.

    Like

    1. Pico de gallo is just fresh salsa. The pico and guacamole’s flavors intensified overnight and made the leftover fish better (after they were heavily salted and doused with jalapeno sauce). But it still didn’t taste like the fish brought much to the party.

      Like

  2. Your post reminds me about using left-over fish for fish cakes. A few months ago I had a lot of fresh rockfish and got tired of simple broiled fish for dinner (it was tasty, easy, and low-calorie — although possibly heavy in mercury, if you believe all the warnings about fish, which I guess I do). So I found this simple recipe and now I buy and cook fish just so I have left-overs!
    Start with broiled or baked or fried fish. Flake the leftover fish with a fork, like tuna or crab. Mix with mayonnaise, bread crumbs, spices – some dill, a sprinkle of lemon. Sprinkle with Bay Seasoning if you’d like to spice it up a bit. Make patties. There should be enough mayo to hold the fish together in patties as a sticky soft mass. Roll the patties in bread crumbs and saute in a mix of butter and oil until golden brown.

    And I note that today is “say no” day. I’m going to try saying no to something I like to eat — maybe the delicious Berger’s chocolate cookies that I am addicted to. It’s amazing to me how often I think of the program you’re following as I go about my (eating) day. I recently read a very good book called “Losing It,” all about diets and the diet culture we live in. The friend who loaned it to me used to have a weight problem followed by a bout of bulimia. There are so many ways to have an unhealthy relationship with food.

    Like

    1. Fish cakes! I’ve only ever bought crab to make crab cakes – what is this leftover of which you speak? Usually, I just make one fish fillet for me. It might be nice to make extra and have something else to do with it. Often I will make extra chicken or beef in order to make something else with leftovers, makes cooking more efficient.

      I made crab macaroni and cheese this weekend also. Looks like it’s going to go out for the critters. It just didn’t work well and the crab – since “locally” I can only get canned or frozen (if I’m lucky) tasted really fishy. I’ve already doctored it up once with little improvement. The critters will love me.

      I was struggling with what or who to say no to today. Saying no is not a problem for me in general, but I like your take on it. Saying no to food can be a real issue. It’s not today, since I just forced myself to eat some toast for the diabetes. Sick sick sick today.

      “There are so many ways to have an unhealthy relationship with food.” That is SO true. Kind of strange. Food is just something we need to live. How did it become something that is so easy to be problematic? I can’t think of anything similar. At least not at the moment.

      Like

Comments are closed.