meatballs

I made meatballs this afternoon. I make a bunch of them at a time and freeze them, then I can pop out a few any time I want to make spaghetti with meatballs. And I get to control what goes in them rather than buy the commercially produced variety with their strange chemicals and preservatives. Woo. On the other hand, after rolling 45 meatballs – all that would fit on my rack – I looked at the remaining meatball mix and said,

“Meatloaf! It’s what’s for dinner.”

I baked them on a rack, by the way, so that they wouldn’t sit in their own fat.

I also made pumpkin granola this afternoon. I’ll add the tweaks to my granola recipe but I must say, yum. Seriously yum. I’m loving this homemade granola thing. I’m leaving the fruit out entirely and can add some cranberries or whatever when I want, if I want. And I use probably too many nuts but nuts are good for you provided you don’t eat a million at a time.

I didn’t get the vacuuming done again. It’s penciled in for Thursday along with super cleaning the downstairs kitchen and bathroom with the steam cleaner I recently purchased. I mostly bought it for upstairs because despite Dad having a homeworker who cleaned 4 hours per month, there are really frightening stains. I’m hoping the steam cleaner will clean and sanitize.

Tomorrow’s schedule includes getting to the post office and going over to see Dad. As well as do my Walmart shopping. This plan is dependent on whether I sleep tonight, of course. Last night sucked. No reason. Just couldn’t sleep.

4 thoughts on “meatballs”

  1. Meatballs & Granola would make a good name for a blog! That’s the first thing that I thought of when I read this.

    Meatballs I make every so often, but I haven’t made granola in years. Not since I was in my homemade bread phase… which was decades ago. Back then we grooved on carbs and avoided protein. Oh how times have changed!

    Like

    1. I really like this granola recipe. All the homemade granola I’ve seen is loaded up with oil and I really like the replacement with applesauce and/or pumpkin. Not sure how long I will continue to make (almost) everything myself. It has benefits and annoyances. I only allow myself to make bread once per week. It is my greatest weakness.

      Like

  2. I love granola and LOTS of nuts!! High in protein but high in fat, so moderation is good. I like meatloaf but the only meatballs I’ll eat are my mom’s cabbage wrapped meatballs(with rice) in a tomato/vinegar sauce. LOL at Ally’s idea for a new blog name. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yup, too bad I already named Chickens and Eggs. Maybe one of y’all ought to start a recipe blog!

      A few less nuts would probably make the granola a slightly healthier snack, but still it’s less than 1 ounce nuts per 1/2 cup serving. And fiber! It’s chock full of fiber!

      Like

Comments are closed.