memories

Today we’re going to share our most memorable diabetes day. You can take this anywhere…. your or your loved one’s diagnosis, a bad low, a bad high, a big success, any day that you’d like to share. (Thanks to Jasmine of Silver-Lined for this topic suggestion.)

Most memorable day, huh?

April 2000. The turn of the century. What an exciting time! For the first time, I managed to get myself together and do the blood draw for the spring health fair. And there was a snowstorm the day of the fair but that was before my fear of snow. I had a Jeep Cherokee and I had a blast breaking through 3 foot drifts getting to the main road.

And when I got there, I picked up all kinds of chotchkies. You know the sort. Stress balls, pens, and magnets. Oh, a side note. I got my blood typed and tested A-. Since I had previously tested A+ I thought that was weird and learned that it’s totally possible to test as either rh+ or rh- at different times. At least for some of us. Anyway, I finally got to the table with the blood test results.

Fasting blood glucose: 250

I knew what it meant but I didn’t get the official diagnosis till Monday. But I knew and I consider that Saturday my official diagnosis day.

April 1, 2000.

5 thoughts on “memories”

  1. For my mom, it was about 25 years ago and she was tired and needing to go to the bathroom a lot. At first she started out being able to control it with diet, then with half a pill and now she’s insulin dependent, but very adept at figuring it all out. I hope I don’t get it(which is unfortunately in my genes) because I’m lazy!

    Like

  2. Memorable day, for sure.

    I smiled at the image of you blasting through snow drifts in your jeep. I have a 1997 Ford F150 with 210k miles on it. Winter snow storms here in Minneapolis make me glad to have it. I enjoy throwing that puppy into 4×4 and driving through snow piles, too! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.