the light of day

I’m thinking about getting a security system. ADT has an installation special going on for only $99 and it’s less than $40 per month for their basic package, which really would be sufficient for my needs. And I’m going to shut off Dish so it won’t be adding to household expenses. It has a couple door sensors and a motion sensor and all I really think I need is the reassurance that no one has broken in upstairs in the middle of the night when I start hearing the completely normal sounds of the house settling, of raccoons running down the deck, or the cats jumping up and down off of stuff.

In the light of day, it seems silly. No one in their right mind is going to break into a house that is obviously being lived in. And a house that isn’t fancy enough to make you think it has anything worth stealing – which as far as traditional robbery goes, it doesn’t. I’m never worried about anyone breaking in downstairs. Hell, I don’t always remember to lock the doors down here – which is kind of stupid considering this is a resort area and my particular street has only one or two houses that are occupied year round besides this one. Used to be, at least, that you heard about summer or weekend people getting burgled.

But at 2 o’clock in the morning when I hear those noises, it keeps me awake, listening. One thump is not the same as footsteps. I could hear footsteps if that’s what they were. But I’m thinking that the door sensors will be the equivalent of the big dog that would help me let go of the listening. That was one of the nice things about having a big dog. Fred would definitely have eaten anyone trying to get in the house and I never, never had those middle of the night fears with him there.

In the middle of the night, I think I’m going to call ADT tomorrow. In the morning, I think it’s a little silly. And today is supposed to be landscape day – we’ll see if this one follows through.

8 thoughts on “the light of day”

  1. Unsolicited advice gleaned from personal experience with multiple security systems: make sure that the place where you put the code pad is somewhere easily accessible. Not behind two doors that both must be opened, then closed. Not across the room from the door you use the most often. Not in a space with no natural light in case the electricity goes out. Think the placement part through, because if you don’t you will come to hate your security system. Just saying…

    Like

    1. Oh, you have given me much fodder for my imagination. And made me laugh – I can imagine each of those situations. I think there is really only one reasonable place for the code pad – beside the front door which I pretty rarely use – but the thing is for upstairs, not for the door I use. If someone were really determined to get in, they’d just break one of the glass doors. I just can’t imagine the really determined burglar breaking in here.

      Like

  2. With most alarm companies, you can have multiple code pads installed. Highly recommended! I have one in my bedroom – convenient to check which area triggered the midnight alarm and shut it off. There are code pads inside all the main doors, in the basement, the master bedroom, the upstairs landing and two in the servant’s quarters (I’m still here, housesitting).

    Like

  3. I don’t have an alarm system, but you’ve made me think about it and so has Ally. I am alone here and it’s a fairly big house. I do hear noises and a security system might be reassuring.

    Like

    1. A friend of mine has told me horror stories about ADT. I’m going to keep looking and consider some alternatives and what exactly I want. We could both get big dogs!

      Like

  4. You are right about Fred. He tried to eat me and I was a guest in your house so no telling what he would do to a burglar.

    Like

    1. I keep telling you, if he had actually tried to eat you, you would be eaten. Be glad you weren’t the mailman.

      Like

Comments are closed.