things that are lost

This has been a week of trying to find lost things. Mom’s keys are lost. They have to be somewhere. Years ago, Dad took Mom’s keys away from her when she could no longer safely drive. And hid them. I’ve been looking for them for years and he had no idea, even before things got so bad, where he put them. I finally gave up and paid $90 to get a spare key to his car made. I’ve never lost a car key but since I only had one it is almost predetermined that I will lose it.

But now… I realized that I needed to do the PoA thing at the local bank. They have a small amount of money there and a safe deposit box. I have no idea what is in the box and as the PoA, I probably should. I imagine it might hold the original copy of their will. But, although I’m told they should have two keys, Dad does not have one on his key ring and, as already mentioned, Mom’s keys are lost. If I can’t find them, it’ll cost $200 to have the box lock drilled.

I stopped by Walmart this afternoon for a few things and when I went to pay, my debit card was missing. I don’t imagine it was stolen so that means I lost it. I swipe the card and I put it back in my purse. I know where I used it last and it wasn’t turned in there. No weird activity has shown up. It’s just gone. I wonder how long the new one will take to get here.

Oh, there’s other stuff. I’ve been reorganizing and I’m not sure where I put some things. I’ve got a lot more cleaning to do, of course. Maybe those keys will show up. Eventually.

12 thoughts on “things that are lost”

  1. This sometimes happens to me, although much less frequently these days. It’s almost like I’ve got a gremlin as things go missing for no good reason. The occasion that sticks in my mind was one day in my bedroom, I put my earrings on the bed, put one on and then turned back for the other, only to find it gone. It wasn’t anywhere, hadn’t slid off the bed onto the floor, wasn’t in a crease of the duvet, it was just gone. So that was that until a couple of weeks later when I was getting into my car and as I opened the door, there was my earring between the door and my seat. I can’t explain it. The earring was on my bed, I was trying to put it on. I’d used the car every day since, so it wasn’t as it is could have somehow got caught on me and dropped off in the car, because I would have seen it before. It’s just weired. Your things will eventually turn up in the most unexpected places, I’m sure.

    Like

    1. I have had earrings do strange things and show up in strange places before. I’m thinking maybe there are earring faeries that hide them then bring them out again just to make your eyes spin in your head.

      Like

  2. I absolutely hate losing things!! (like last year’s taxes, that finally did show up in the garage) My daughter has lost her passport which I’m not thrilled about. She has a concert in Canada to attend and no passport. GRRR.

    Like

    1. I would say something about useful lessons in responsibility – but considering every day I’m digging for where did I put this or that I have no room to talk. 🙂

      Like

  3. I had to get my own safe deposit box drilled two years ago, Zaz. And a couple of months ago, I found the original key in the original envelope in an old purse. :/

    Like

    1. Well, I’ve been expecting my debit card to show up all weekend. Figured that once I reported it lost it’d slap me in the face but so far, no debit card.

      Like

    1. You are so right, Ally! I was so bored with those numbers on my debit card and finding the keys will motivate me to keep cleaning out the upstairs! It’s all how you spin it.

      Like

Comments are closed.