you know when you think everything is going well?

Why can’t it last more than a day or two?

I got a call from the nursing home this morning. Dad is more “confused” again. He got upset with his roommate and started yelling at him to get out of his room, then tried pushing and shoving him with his wheelchair. At some point, he started yelling that he was going to kill him and/or shoot him. He picked up his wooden back scratcher and stood up, trying to beat his roommate with it. Dad then fell but was apparently unhurt and was calmed down.

The nurse told me that prior to Dad going to the hospital, he had an episode where he was shouting at the new administrator that he was a General and he’d better do as he was told or something to that effect. Add to that the stint of being a secret agent in Canada and we seem to have a new problem.

Medication is my first suspicion. The only medication he is on, besides some nausea meds, is Remeron for sleep which indeed has a possible side effect of agitation and hallucinations. The nursing home will likely send him to the same geriatric we put Mom in when she was starting to hallucinate. It was a good program and the doctors were very knowledgeable about Alzheimer’s and dementia.

On the plus side, I made Eggs in Hell for lunch and it was quite tasty. I cut the olive oil way back so the otherwise healthy dish is not swimming in oil.

*update*

I just spoke with the Director of Nursing about other options for Dad, the facility that Mom went to no longer has a good reputation. I also asked about the remeron since the first side effects listed are agitation and hallucinations and she agrees that we should try to address it there at the nursing home before sending him out. They’re changing rooms, at least for now.

14 thoughts on “you know when you think everything is going well?”

  1. I’ve had a ridiculously busy fortnight, so I’m only just catching up on all the news. Things change so quickly where you are! Hopefully the problem is medication related and will therefore disappear when they do a review, and not a new strand to your dad’s “confusion”. Eggs in Hell looks great, but I think would be too hot for me. Love the idea though, looks really tasty.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I just updated my post. The Director of Nursing agrees with me that the Remeron may be causing this. It’s also a possibility for dementia patients to become aggressive and Dad was abusive to my brothers when we were growing up and he’s been verbally aggressive with me when I’ve challenged a delusion, so it’s been a concern of mine.

      You could make the eggs a little less spicy. Since you seed the jalapenos it’s really not as spicy as you think. A little sour cream on top would cut the heat, too.

      Like

  2. From my brother:

    I’m working on a turn of phrase where “going to Canada” or “living in Canada” will be analogous to a happy, pleasant but thoroughly delusional, though thoroughly believed, perception of reality.

    “Everything points to this year being the year my home business selling wholesale ferret spleens really gets off the ground and makes me a million bucks -or am I just living in Canada?”

    Like

  3. Sorry about the continued probs with your father. Just reading the recipe for Eggs in Hell is too much for my stomach! Of course, with enough Tums + Prilosec + GasX maybe I could eat it… or am I just living in Canada?

    Like

    1. Thank you Scott. I haven’t made it around to other blogs as regularly lately but I will catch up eventually. Good to see you.

      Like

  4. Medications and their effects are the very devil. By the end my husband was taking so many meds that we couldn’t figure out what was causing which symptom. But I think it was mostly the cancer.

    Like

    1. I’m wondering now, since Mom was on Remeron too, whether her hallucinations were caused by it. But she was on so many drugs and Dad is just on the one.

      Like

  5. When I was in college and worked the overnight shift at an Alzheimer’s facility, there were definitely cases of hostility from the patients. I also distinctly remember my grandfather becomming easily agitated and agressive especially in the early stages. I really hope that perhaps a medication change will help and regardless I’m thinking about you. I’m also wishing I lived closer so you could cook Eggs in Hell for me 🙂

    I went out with a girlfriend the other night and we had Fried Pickles that were on the menu as “Frickles”. I’ve decided that’s my new swear word phrase…”Aw, frickles!” Now I can swear with Frickles when something I’ve imagined should go one way doesn’t and then remark that “Perhaps I was just living in Canada.”

    Like

    1. I worked in nursing homes in high school and college, but in the kitchen. I didn’t have much contact with the dementia patients. We seem to be at a wait and see point. When I saw Dad on Friday, he didn’t seem to have any recollection of the fight the day before. In some ways, that’s better for him but in others, it makes it hard for him to understand why he needs to stay there.

      I think we need to try to work frickles and living in Canada into everyday conversation. I used to do that back in my college days. Start using some silly slang and wait for it to start getting back to me.

      Like

        1. I was going to add something about how I hope it’s not offensive to Canadians. Canada is somewhere I really want to visit, possibly to further the French learning. My nephew also spent some time there a few years ago learning film making and had a great experience, so I’m keen not to offend the Canadians!

          Like

Comments are closed.