king of the world

I’ve decided to use the Calorie King program as a part of my goals this year. I know that for me, I have to write stuff down or else I lie to myself and totally underestimate how much I’m eating. I got better at that when I was losing weight a couple years ago but then, when I quit writing it down I gradually started letting more and more small things slide into my day and voila! I’ve gained most of the weight back.

I previously made an Excel spreadsheet, I’ve used special diet journals, I’ve used scraps of paper or printed out forms to write on. I often use Calorie King to look up foods and transfer the information to whatever system I’m using. I figured, why not just use their program and save myself a step or two? Plus it’s discounted right now to $40 for the year and I get a week free to see whether I like it. So far, so good.

I like what I’ve read of their philosophy so far. There are thousands of diets out there. Some that promise you can eat as much as you want, many with special foods or pre-made meals. CK seem to be all about the calorie and letting you work out for yourself how you want to eat those calories. That’s more me. I think losing weight always boils down to eat less, exercise more. I will certainly continue cutting back on carbs and increasing my proteins but I want to eat in a way that fits my life, my preferences, and can be maintained long term. I cannot maintain the ultra low-carb diets nor can I live on grapefruit alone or totally give up bread. The best diet, I believe, is the one you will stick with.

My biggest challenge continues to be the stress eating. With Dad out of the house, some of my stress is better. Still, I was awake late last night, first with pain and then with the stupid cat running around upstairs and simulating the sound of intruders. Or possibly raccoons on the upper deck. Getting used to the sounds of the house when I know no one else is home will take some time. Anyway, once I get my eating plan back under control and cut out the grazing in the evening, I think this will work fine within my lap-band and diabetes goals.

Not sure how much I will write about this but I plan to at least review how this program works and probably update some on my progress. Doing it in public, so to speak, makes me a little more honest with myself.

14 thoughts on “king of the world”

  1. I’d be really interested to read how you get on with this Zazzy, because as you say, there are so many different approaches out there and what works for one doesn’t work for another. It’s all about finding something that works for you. So I would be really interested to hear if this is working for you. Best of luck!

    Like

    1. Well, it’s really just a calorie counter. But it has a nice database and a community that I haven’t really explored yet. It’s hard to be the new person and step into established conversations. But it might be useful.

      Like

  2. It sounds like a way more common sense approach because denying oneself all the fun treats makes for binge eating eventually. Fewer carbs and calories and more activity are the tickets.

    Like

    1. Agreed Margaret. I don’t do well long term on plans that say you can never eat this or that again. On the other hand, I don’t do well keeping once in a while treats around the house. So, the key is smart choices and moving more.

      Like

  3. Okay, when I first started reading this post I thought that you were using the Carole King program & I was amazed that she had a diet program!

    Duh.

    But now that I see what it is that you are using, it all makes so much more sense to me. I hope that you find this approach helpful and will be interested in hearing about your process. Whatever works, works.

    Like

  4. I’ll know in a few days. Labs were normal for years but weird this month. A repeat test was much better, but the renal diet (boring) is for caution. CT shows a possible tiny kidney stone so I’m drinking lots more water.

    Zazzy, maybe you could being a picture of Petey and also hang some poster-size pictures of your father’s favorite lake views.

    Like

    1. Take care of you. I took him a picture of kitty but I need to print out a new one and get a frame. I’m planning on taking some of the birds he painted for him. Don’t know what else and he can’t think of anything.

      Like

  5. Although I’m not exactly on their “plan”, I must refer to CK a dozen times a week. I really like that when you choose a food, the nutrition info can be gotten for several different measurements – ounces, grams, volume, et. And they are pretty good for restaurant items too.
    Good luck.

    Like

    1. I think I’ve decided to go ahead and buy the year – just because it’s easy to use and I was using it anyway. You can create foods that aren’t on their list (I use my cookbook program to get the nutritional information) and save them as favorites for the ones you eat often and save “meals” of things that you eat together often. I’m not sure about the community yet, I find it really hard to get involved in a community. In many ways, they are better at restaurant and convenience foods than they are at ingredients but, since you can save your own stuff, that will get easier as I continue to input my own information.

      Like

    1. Portions are hard when I’m not weighing and measuring. My estimates keep getting larger! What amazes me is that I’m not at all hungry and I’m not really changing what I eat (except for not eating bags of cheetos and stuff like that) yet. I’m just trying to get in the habit of weighing and measuring and writing stuff down again. I haven’t been to rehab, where I weigh in, so I don’t know my real starting weight and I’m not sure that 2000 calories is really the right place to start – but it’s a lot less than what I was eating while free-grazing.

      Like

Comments are closed.