plenty to be thankful for

It’s time for my annual Bing Crosby post. I try to remember to be thankful for the good stuff even when things are tough – but it isn’t easy. It’s so much easier to dwell on the negative annoyances. And I’m afraid that right now, my main thought about being thankful is that I’m glad that things aren’t worse.

I’ve got plenty to be thankful for
I haven’t got a great big yacht
To sail from shore to shore
Still I’ve got plenty to be thankful for

I’ve got plenty to be thankful for
No private car, no caviar
No carpet on my floor
Still I’ve got plenty to be thankful for

I’ve got eyes to see with
Ears to hear with
Arms to hug with
Lips to kiss with
Someone to adore

How could anybody ask for more?
My needs are small, I buy them all
At the five and ten cent store
Oh, I’ve got plenty to be thankful for

Old Bing reminds me that even if I don’t have a bunch of fancy stuff and life isn’t perfect, there is a lot that I am grateful for. So, here goes…

  • I’m glad that I’m able to walk and take care of my own needs. Every morning when I push my feet out from under the covers and stand up, I’m doing something that no one was sure I would be able to do again ten years ago. I’m also grateful that although I have some health challenges, I’m basically healthy. We have wonderful tools available to help us cope with things like diabetes that weren’t around even thirty years ago – and much of the world isn’t nearly as lucky as we are that these tools are widely available.
  • I’m grateful that Mom is in a safe place where people care for her. I’m also glad that we can afford for her to be there. I’m glad that I’m able to visit and that sometimes I still see a bit of that Mom-spark in her. Plus I’m thankful that I had time to spend with her before the Alzheimer’s took her spirit.
  • I’m thankful that Dad is still able to mostly take care of himself. I know that this isn’t going to last but, particularly over the last few years, it’s been a very good thing that he hasn’t required more than management of the house around him. I know that this is changing and I’m glad that there are probably people who will be able to help with these changes.
  • I’m grateful for friends and my chosen family around the world. I don’t get to see them the way that I would like but I know that they’re there. I’m thankful that there are people who genuinely care even when I feel at my most alone.
10 thoughts on “plenty to be thankful for”

  1. I’m thankful too, but especially that our older daughter surprised us with a visit from California. My husband cried and hugged both girls; he was overcome!! He’s really not doing well at all, so barring a miracle, this will be our last holiday together. And we’re going to TRY to enjoy it.

    Like

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, Zazzy dear. I always think of you on this day – not sure why this season makes me think of you but it does. I am thankful that we “met” and that I can still find you.

    Like

  3. I am thankful for all of my dear online friends, for the recovery of my health, and hopefully for the recovery of this respiratory crud I’ve been fighting for over 2 weeks. On the 7th my nephrologist said my kidneys were “rock stars” – what a gift.

    Like

  4. I don’t remember that movie clip at all. Is it from White Christmas?

    I’m thankful for just about everything in my life. Mice living in the attic, excluded. Flat tires, excluded. Diseases that cause chronic pain, excluded. But everything else seems good to me.

    Like

Comments are closed.