lap band follies

It’s a good thing I’m not doing NaBloPoMo this year, considering I just remembered to change my banner today. What? Is it November already?

So I went to my follow up appointment last Tuesday – again without alerting Dad about any of this – and my favorite nurse practitioner grabbed me instead of the surgeon or his PA. In many ways, I preferred that but it meant I didn’t get my questions answered. I was concerned because I was having the same symptoms that brought me into the office to begin with – reflux and irritation of the band area. Surprise, the surgeon did not unfill the band as he told me he would during the stupid surgery – so I had an extra week of reflux and irritation from a too-tight band. At any rate, Wendy took some fluid out and I’m gradually improving.

The thing to do now is to get back on my lap-band eating plan and start losing weight again. And yet, I’m still not doing that. If the reflux doesn’t stop, the band may have to come out. It could be creating an ulcer or, worse case scenario, the band could infiltrate the wall of my stomach. I really don’t want either of those things. This week, I couldn’t help thinking about the victims of Sandy and friends who are going through some very hard times, and here I am worrying about having too much to eat. There’s something very sad about that. It’s not that I want bigger problems in my life – but this is something I surely should be able to solve.

10 thoughts on “lap band follies”

    1. My guess? I was the last surgery of his day and he wanted to get home. I’m glad I’m better, too. No dwelling on worst case crap.

      Like

    1. Well, that’s where it gets kind of complicated. There’s the lap-band diet, which in my program at least is high protein, very low carb. With the irritation, I’ve been mostly eating soft foods and soft foods are a no-no. They want you to eat things that will stay in your stomach. No water with meals, stuff like that. Honestly, this is a not a diet I can maintain – but I did have a good balance going for me and I lost a lot of weight.

      Then, there’s the diabetes diet. That’s not so much low-carb as balanced carb. I’m supposed to eat roughly the same amount of carbs at each meal, high fiber/low impact carbs are preferred. Some people use the high protein diet but others consider it risky with diabetes because of the potential impact on liver and kidneys.

      And then, I am following the gastorparesis diet because of my digestive issues. That’s low fiber, low fat, no beans, no rice, no “fibrous” meats, no fresh fruits or vegetables and so on. This diet gets to be on top of my list because not getting sick is my number one priority at the moment. Soft, easy foods are what my guts want. That’s improving, however. I’m starting to add back in some trigger foods – I had salad 4 times last week! W00t! Oh, and drinking water with meals is recommended.

      Then (is it prophetic I put this last?) there’s the weight loss part. Calorie restriction, avoidance of simple carbs and sugars, the usual.

      Trying to balance all of this drives me a bit crazy. But it is doable when I put the time and honesty into it. I need to be weighing and measuring and writing stuff down – otherwise I lie to myself. I eat habitually and impulsively way too much and not writing it down means I way underestimate how much I’m actually eating. I should be the most motivated person in the world – but damn it’s a lot of work. Not that much work, though, if I just do it. A little boring, however.

      Like

      1. Just reading this made my head spin. No wonder you get crazed and confused about what to eat. I’d have to have a worksheet set up for every hour/day/week to even begin to remember what to eat when, with what, and why. Yowsa!

        And yet, you’ve managed to do this once before, so you can do it again? Although I totally get why you’d think it was boring to do so. Gracious. Good luck.

        Like

        1. It’s not really as complicated as it sounds. Once I get into a routine, it’s doable. Right now, it’s a question of lack of motivation and the huge number of trigger foods that limit what I can safely eat. The good news is my digestive system is settling down. Lettuce, tomatoes and avocados are okay, corn and beans are not. It’s such a pity that cookies and ice cream never hurt my stomach.

          Like

  1. Hey Zazzy,

    Sorry to hear that you’re dealing with this stuff. Regardless of how it feels in the grand scheme of things, you deserve to have your needs taken care of too (last appointment of the day or not).

    Like

    1. I agree, Scott. Particularly since everyone I talked to said that unfilling the band was automatic when they do a port revision. It was vexing but not really the worst thing in the world.

      Like

  2. There is way more to having a lap band than I ever imagined! Especially all the diet stuff that goes with it. When I hear of celebrities getting one and losing loads of weight I kind of just assume that they just don’t get so hungry anymore and the weight falls off, but it seems like there’s so much more to it than that. Good luck with figuring out what you need to do. At least you have done it before.

    Like

    1. It’s nowhere near as simple as the media makes it sound. You get plenty hungry with a lap-band. Basically, the lap-band is a tool and if you use it right, it can make you feel full faster. Or at least that’s the idea. As an emotional eater, hunger isn’t really my main issue and when I’m stressed, I’m not paying any attention to my body’s hungry/full meter. In many ways, it’s just another diet and unless you’re willing to tell yourself “no” it’s pretty much useless.

      Like

Comments are closed.