diabetic stupidity

I’ve been enjoying the new series Touch. Sort of. But last night’s episode had Keifer Sutherland finding an unconscious man whom it turns out was diabetic. “There are some loaded insulin syringes in the fridge…” Injecting an unconscious diabetic with insulin would be more likely to kill him than save him. Sure, it’s possible to be so high as to go unconscious but it’s much more likely to be the result of a low. The paramedics, who were on their way, could have tested to be sure. We see diabetic inaccuracies in the media all the time, but this one was a killer.

8 thoughts on “diabetic stupidity”

    1. I’ve written a diabetic educator acquaintance of mine. I’m interested to see his response and will share it here.

      Like

  1. Doesn’t anyone do any research on those shows? Or even have a diabetic relative?? When my mom has crashed, OJ is the best thing; it must be just loaded with sugar.

    Like

    1. A couple of months ago I had to call the ambulance for DS.I couldn’t get him to drink the milk with corn sugar,(dextrose),by myself. The police responded first,one police man told me I should give DS his insulin,he probably didn’t take his insulin in the morning.No,that might kill him,was my answer.After DS was o.k.,I said,I think it’s time our local RCMP takes a diabetes refresher course.

      Every time I watched a medical show where they gave someone insulin,or said he/she needs insulin when they didn’t,I lost interest to watch any other episodes .Thinking,if the writers can’t even get that one right,then all the other medical cases are not right either.

      Like

      1. You’d think they’d check (the tv writers) and you’d think they’d know (the RCMP). Remember that this person was unconscious with paramedics on the way. Maybe, if I knew him and he had them, I’d give him a shot of glucagon (that’s the word, isn’t it?) but no food or drink to an unconscious person. And no insulin, of course.

        Like

  2. I decided, by the way, to write Fox. I imagine they have had plenty of comments from the diabetic community but I’m curious if and how they will respond. Some folks over at TuDiabetes think it was a glucagon kit that he took from the fridge but no lay person is going to know the difference.

    Like

Comments are closed.