mother nature sucks

Why oh why would mother nature do this to a sweet little kitty? And worse, to the person she lives with. I’ve never had a cat in heat before – I’ve never even been around a cat in heat. Male or female, I’ve had my cats fixed as soon as humanly possible. Sadly for Zoe, the vet couldn’t tell for sure if she had been spayed. He thought, based on her tummy, that she had, but he suggested we just wait and see. We’ve been waiting and I’ve been hopeful it wasn’t going to be an issue.

I really feel sorry for her. She isn’t howling, yet, but mews pitifully. Online sources say she’s not in pain, just filled with longing. Can you imagine? We’ve pretty much all had periods of sexual frustration but yikes! At least mother nature didn’t choose to do this with humans.

It took her forever to settle down last night. Catnip seemed to help some and the first time I woke she was snuggled in the cat bed I had sprinkled catnip in. She seems a little more relaxed this morning and I’m hoping this is short and she doesn’t manage to get a second heat in before her surgery.

32 thoughts on “mother nature sucks”

  1. I had no idea this happened! Poor thing, sounds awful. Only two short weeks till she’s sorted, I hope this is a once only event. I hope there are no local toms loitering, unless you want kittens…?

    Like

    1. I do not want kittens! I’ve closed up the house and turned on the air to prevent any breaking of screens in case an intact male wanders by. The sad thing is that she just doesn’t seem to understand what’s going on. I’ve tried talking to her 😉 but “Sometimes when a mommy cat and a daddy cat really love each other….” doesn’t seem to soothe her at all.

      Like

        1. I’m too tired to spell right. I didn’t tell you about the online sources that recommended a tiny kitty dildo to soothe her. I’m just not ready for that one. Though, I have to say that around 2AM I was seriously considering the idea.

          Like

    1. Apparently, they actually make the things FOR cats. From what I read, pedigreed breeders may use them to soothe a cat they don’t want to breed.

      Like

  2. Oh my! I, too, have tears streaming down my face. Kitty dildo!? That is so messed up. And hilarious. And wrong, and…but, hey, if you’ve done it already out of desperation, then, it’s cool, yeah, I’ll still, umm, read your blog.

    Seriously, I hope your kitty feels better & calms down soon so you can both get some rest!

    Like

      1. Sure! I’ll see you in about 24 hours. Oh, no, wait – it’s Easter. Heathrow is jammed to the gills, gridlocks everywhere, lots of people going nowhere. I’ll see you in a fortnight. Oh, no, wait – Zoe’s surgery is on the 19th. Darn, I would have loved to have helped but clearly BA is against me. In the meantime, if you don’t want to buy one of “those things”, I did a bit of a Google search and I hear a Q-tip / cotton bud is just as effective. We all have one of those in the bathroom cabinet, don’t we? There are instructions on how to use it to maximum effect, if you see what I mean. 🙂 🙂 And yes, I’m with Louise. It’s all good, I’ll still read your blog. Wouldn’t miss this for the world!

        Like

        1. I did indeed read about the q-tip but I, uh, don’t have any proper lubricant. Heathrow indeed!

          Just to keep everything (hidden) in the same thread, poor Zoe once again had a hard time settling down for bed. I felt a lot more like mother cat than lover cat, though. She curled up in the crook of my arm – after she had stopped attacking my feet – rolled over on her back and just cried. Rubbing her head and shoulders was the only thing that comforted her and if I stopped – even for just a second, like when I was attempting to go to sleep – she’d cry and reach up and pat my face, sometimes with claws. She did finally settle back down after a couple hours.

          For those interested, according to the online “experts” heat can last anywhere from 2-3 days to 2 weeks and can be repeated anywhere from twice per year to every 2 weeks until she’s bred or spayed. Glad to know. The q-tip looks better and better.

          Like

  3. Oh! And I learned that an unaltered female cat is properly called a Queen. So Zoe gets to be Queen for another 2 weeks. I’m hoping that the desire to cuddle and be petted lasts after the desire to @#$% my foot goes away.

    Like

    1. You could take a break from your problems and come help with Zoe – since Polly has made up all kinds of excuses about traveling a mere 4400 miles.

      Like

      1. And my “how far is it?” calculator has a new feature. It would create 1288 kg of co2 to travel by air from London to here. I’m very tired this morning and that seems very interesting information to me.

        Like

        1. So glad Zoe is feeling better! We’ve been visiting my dad this weekend so haven’t had access to the computer, but I’ve been on the edge of my chair to get back and see how things are going (I really have!). The world will be glad Zoe has calmed down as 1288kg of CO2 is really too much to inflict on the poor planet for a flying visit. I didn’t think it was as far as 4400 miles, though. Shame no direct flight, would make things so much easier! Hope your scratched face is recovering and the Q-tips are resting safely in the bathroom cabinet. Polly x

          Like

        2. I hope you had more fun with your dad than I had with Zoe. She is indeed back to her usual, delightful, biting self. Still, it’s better than her smacking me every time I closed my eyes. Q-tips remain hidden. 🙂

          Like

    1. She seems more relaxed this morning, but then she did yesterday morning too. I don’t know if that is characteristic of heat or not. When she’s relaxed, I start really hoping this is over.

      Making a salad with Zoe around is difficult, btw, as she is up in my face begging for avocado. You can add peaches, strawberries and mangoes to avocados and bananas for Zoe’s fruit obsession list.

      Like

  4. I hate to say it – and maybe jinx it – but I think we’re winding down. She’s back to biting me and not assuming the pose every time I touch her. Here’s hoping that the twice per year estimate is closer than the every two weeks estimate.

    🙂

    Like

  5. Laughing so hard am almost to the tears. Do hope you don’t have an intact male come around as you will really be in for a riot. They make some of the most God awful noises when a Queen is in heat. So will the Queen when she hears them caterwauling. We had a cat many moons ago that would climb the drapes and anything else that was nearby when in heat. Even ripped up the screen on the screen doors. Have fun Sweets and I hope it doesn’t last long. I needed a good laugh before I went to bed and this is one of the best I have had for awhile.

    Like

  6. We had no caterwalling – mostly she was just pitiful. You know you can imagine what a pet is thinking? The impression I got was “Make it stop! Here! My Butt! Make it stop!” Perhaps that’s just wishful thinking as the alternative is a little disturbing.

    Like

    1. The things you miss out on Ally. And I did offer to send her to you! You live much closer – if you hadn’t been on vacation you could have taken Polly’s place!

      Like

Comments are closed.