finding quiet

Inspiration – and the same damn message – is everywhere. This week I move from East to West. Doesn’t matter.

“Distraction is the only thing that consoles us for our miseries and yet it is itself the greatest of our miseries.”
~Blaise Pascal

Interesting, or not, that last week I was writing about accepting myself and figuring out what I want and this week I’ve slipped into stressful, obsessive worrying. Sort of, since I spend a lot of time distracting myself. I can’t seem to sit quietly with myself and just be.

“I have discovered that all human evil comes from this, man’s being unable to sit still in a room.”
~Blaise Pascal

I can’t sleep lately. Sure, there’s a pain issue but a big part is not being able to shut down. My head is spinning. And instead of slowing down, finding quiet, I am filling it with distractions.

“Clarity of mind means clarity of passion, too; this is why a great and clear mind loves ardently and sees distinctly what it loves.”
~Blaise Pascal

So, my goal this week is to find some quiet. I used to give this really simple communication exercise to couples to see if they were willing to put even a small amount of energy into therapy. Took about 15 minutes per day – which is just over 1% of your day. Surely I can find 15 minutes in a day to be quiet.

4 thoughts on “finding quiet”

  1. Love the second quote. I agree. Stillness is necessary for good mental health.

    I’m sorry to read that you’re not able to find the calmness that you need. I don’t really know how one forces encourages oneself to be still. For me the desire to be still and do nothing comes naturally.

    I think that starting small with a goal of 15 min/day this week sounds like a good, sane plan. See how it goes. I mean, really– what have you got to lose? Might even succeed!

    Like

  2. Love Pascal and quotes in general. I think your plan is great! I have difficulty with the same thing; I tend to read, listen to music or go for a walk/run when I need to quiet my mind down.

    Like

  3. Somewhere a bit down on my FB wall at the moment is a link to Chookooloonks site with an imbedded video from a TED talk. You might check it out. He agrees with you and Pascal about the need for quiet and the overratedness of multi-tasking.

    Hugs!

    Like

Comments are closed.